Is it possible to install an OS on a USB key? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-29-2005, 12:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 511
Send a message via MSN to LegendBreath
Default Is it possible to install an OS on a USB key?

Hi,
Is it possible to install and OS and boot on it from a USB key? I would like to install a trim down linux on a USB key and then just plug it in my PC to boot on Linux. I don't really care if it's slower than a hard drive. Is it slower or faster? And is it possible?
__________________

__________________
LegendBreath is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 12:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 79
Default

Interesting question, but I have never tried this before. I'm curious, do you have a specific need to do this or are you just experimenting? Knoppix is a great distro and runs from the CD. You might try that if you're looking for portability.
If you do figure this out, let us know, I would be interested to see how it is done.
__________________

__________________
I\'m already visualizing the duct tape over your mouth...
Beyeohazard is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 12:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 109
Default

I don't think so, because if you look in CMOS, it won't pick up any drives in the USB ports
Shocker is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 01:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

**** Small Linux (yeah, that's what it's called) has a USB setup. It's only a 50 MB OS, and comes with a crap-load of programs bundled.
WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 01:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

Haha. I can't even type it, because of this filter. First word starts with a "D" and ends with "amn"!
WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 01:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Vero Beach, FL
Posts: 205
Send a message via AIM to RadRacer
Default

My WebDeisgn teacher does it, but abit differently. He uses a USB HD and boots form it, so I figure it's possible. I noticed that when I leave my USB drive in when I boot, it searches it. I guess it's looking for an OS, I'm not sure. But it does look for something on it, so I think you could. Try it out.
__________________
Old Specs:
Intel Celeron D 2.8Ghz
1G RAM
80G Seagate Baracuda 7200.7
GeForce FX5500 (PCI) OCed to 300/500
am I missing anything?

^DEAD^

Now: Toshiba Sattelite L35-S2161 running Ubuntu :)
RadRacer is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 01:07 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

Not sure if this is what your looking for:

http://www.tomshardware.com/2005/09/...n_your_pocket/
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 02:34 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 511
Send a message via MSN to LegendBreath
Default

I just need something really silent so... this would be the best solution. I want to do some Media Center, like a super silent one :P Thanks all! Well, in my BIOS I got a USB Boot thingy (even tought it's a pretty old motherboard)
__________________
LegendBreath is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 03:26 PM   #9 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Some motherboards do allow booting from a usb device so I will say yes, it is possible. Not possible to bounce between systems though due to different hardware components, unless your bouncing between machines of the same type.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 03:33 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 511
Send a message via MSN to LegendBreath
Default

Thanks, nah I won't bounce between machines, I just need something to put my media center OS on it.
__________________

__________________
LegendBreath is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.