PNY GeForce 6200 DON'T WORK HELP~~!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-19-2008, 04:57 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
SirCyber's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: In a yellow Submarine
Posts: 1,113
Send a message via Yahoo to SirCyber
Exclamation PNY GeForce 6200 DON'T WORK HELP~~!!

Ok, a friend of mine purchased a pny geforce 6200 graphics card. I installed, it worked for a short time, then I got blank screen. figured it was the psu. I gave them a 450 watt 21 amp raidmax psu I had laying around. good powersupply, tested it with an Ultra psu tester. all good. tried again. still get the same thing, only now it's not working at all. when plugged into the card, just get a blank screen. I've installed drivers from the CD, but none of the software shows up *i.e. don't get that nice little nVidea option when right clicking on desktop* I've tried a few more times but still not getting anything. ran cpuz, maybe the problem is their ram. running on pcchips m963gv board, intel celeron 340 *prescott series* @2.933 GHz, utilizing pc3200 *200 mhz*SuperTalent 512mb ram. where is my problem? where am I going wrong? last time I reset the entire board, cleared the cmos by disabling or taking out ram, card, and drives. reset was a sucess, can use ONBOARD graphics fine! also, when I went into display properties, tried to select the card, only gave me the option for 640x480 resolution and lowest *4 bit* color. again, what am I missing? I'll check this in the morning hopefully someone has an idea!

EVGA X58 Classified, EVGA GTX 275 CO-OP Edition, Intel Core i7 230@2.68GHz, 1080W Enermax Evolution, 6GB G-Skill DDR3@8-8-8-19

Originally Posted by Mak213
Knowledge is power. Power is nothing if it is not shared.
SirCyber is offline  
Old 04-19-2008, 09:16 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
Snake91839's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 471
Default Re: PNY GeForce 6200 DON'T WORK HELP~~!!

Well, it sounds like you don't have the right drivers... Although that doesn't explain why it was working for awhile..Try this.

Uninstall all video drivers for the card and then restart the computer using the video card. You should get a low resolution display. This time, instead of using the CD to install the drivers, use either windows update, or go to nVidia's website.

It doesn't sound like hardware failure... although that is always a possibility.. Although I really don't think it is in this case.
Snake91839 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Guitar Hero III Preacher PC Gaming 74 01-10-2008 03:08 PM
Nvidia GeForce 9800 series specs released b1gapl New Systems | Building and Buying 109 11-24-2007 05:43 AM
New laptop Arcarna Dimensions Laptops and Notebooks 1 10-25-2007 10:32 AM
What's your work schedule like? Ethereal_Dragon Off Topic Discussion 21 08-29-2007 08:54 AM
Nvidia launches notebook-bound GeForce 8700M GT maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 4 06-14-2007 12:13 AM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:49 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.