PC Upgrade - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-08-2007, 11:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 236
Default PC Upgrade

I'm looking to extend the life of my system a bit longer, so I need some help deciding between a few parts.

First up... the processor. I have a socket 939 system with an Athlon 64 3000+ (1.8Ghz) Venice core processor. I really want to go dual core, so I've narrowed it down to two processors:

Newegg.com - AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ Toledo 2.0GHz 2 x 512KB L2 Cache Socket 939 Processor - OEM

Newegg.com - AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Manchester 2.2GHz 2 x 512KB L2 Cache Socket 939 Processor - OEM

I've done overclocking in the past, but have no desire to do so with the new processor. I'd rather just put it in and forget about it. That being said... is the $10 extra for the second processor worth it for a Manchester core and .2 extra Ghz?

Next... the video card. I'd like to keep the price of a new video card under $150, so I went looking and found one that I thought would do the trick:

Newegg.com - PNY VCG86512GXPB-OC GeForce 8600GT 512MB 128-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card - Retail

I haven't looked too hard for a new video card because the 6600GT I have now is sufficient for the games I currently play (pretty much only Guild Wars). However, I have noticed a few times while playing where the frame rate will drop because there's too much stuff going on. Also, having a DirectX 10 card will come in handy in the future I'm sure. My motherboard only has one PCI-E x16 slot, so SLI is not an option either.

Last... the RAM. I have four slots in my motherboard, two of which are occupied by this:

Newegg.com - OCZ Performance Series 1GB (2 x 512MB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail

My question is, do I buy another 2 x 512MB kit so I can run it in dual channel, or do I just buy a 1GB stick so I can later upgrade to 3GB of RAM?
__________________

beardo526 is offline  
Old 12-08-2007, 11:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: PC Upgrade

2 x 512MB kit since by the time you'd want another upgrade
you probably want a whole new build anyway
__________________

Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 12-08-2007, 11:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 236
Default Re: PC Upgrade

Maybe I wasn't clear enough in my description... I currently have a 512MB stick in one slot, and another 512MB stick in another slot running in dual channel. I want to either...

a.) buy another two 512MB sticks to fill the two remaining slots, keeping the dual channel configuration or...

b.) buy a 1GB stick to put in the third slot, and forget about dual channel while leaving the fourth slot open for a possible future expansion to 3GB of RAM.

The 1GB stick is actually cheaper than the 2 x 512MB kit, but what I'm really trying to figure out is whether or not dual channel is worth it.
beardo526 is offline  
Old 12-09-2007, 02:11 AM   #4 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default Re: PC Upgrade

just get the 2x512, you won't need 3gb of ram unless you use vista, and like fat clown said, by that time you might want to buy a whole new system.
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 12-09-2007, 06:33 AM   #5 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: PC Upgrade

im doing exactly what your doing my freind, im only 15 and dont have money for a new system, i already have a 8600GT and a 3800+ X2, its the way forward (well its not) but if you cant spend money on a new system then CPU, RAM and GPU upgrades are good
Nick is offline  
Old 12-13-2007, 11:50 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 236
Default Re: PC Upgrade

Does anybody else have any advice about something other than my RAM or some real experiences with dual channel vs. non dual channel?
beardo526 is offline  
Old 12-13-2007, 12:01 PM   #7 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: PC Upgrade

Forget the 8600. Go for a 7900 or a 19xx instead. If you aren't running Vista you won't need DX10.

Another 2 X 512 will do you good, unless you go with 2 X 1 gig and sell the 2 X 512.

The 4200 is worth the extra $10.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 12-13-2007, 12:44 PM   #8 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: PC Upgrade

Newegg.com - SAPPHIRE 100213 Radeon HD 2900GT 256MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 HDCP Ready CrossFire Supported Video Card - OEM

This video card should perform better than an 8600 but I was not able to find any benchmarks for it.
Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 12-13-2007, 01:25 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 236
Default Re: PC Upgrade

Another thing that I probably should've mentioned about my video card is that I would really prefer to use a card that only requires one slot. The actual slot that's next to my video card isn't occupied, but my fan controller (I have five case fans) slides into the slot where the little blanking plate thingy (or whatever they're called) would go. In order for me to install that 2900GT I would have to remove the fan controller, which isn't a HUGE issue I guess because I don't really use it, but I'd just prefer not to do it. I'm lazy like that I guess.
beardo526 is offline  
Old 12-13-2007, 02:35 PM   #10 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: PC Upgrade

If you want a single slot card I would recomend this video card instead of the 8600.

Newegg.com - HIS Hightech H260XTF512DDN-R Radeon HD 2600XT 512MB 128-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 CrossFire Supported Video Card - Retail

My brother has this card in his pc and I was supried how well it performs. It can handle Crysis on all medium settings at 1440x 900 dx9.
__________________

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Forseeable price drops? My possible upgrade plan. Trepkos New Systems | Building and Buying 3 12-04-2007 02:21 AM
Medium computer upgrade. muman System Upgrades 6 09-14-2007 04:53 PM
Upgrade Advice for my system Cheeseking25 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 07-25-2007 02:28 PM
To upgrade? or not to upgrade? wumbo6 New Systems | Building and Buying 12 06-11-2007 12:07 AM
Vista Upgrade? Saynt25 Microsoft Windows and Software 4 04-18-2007 04:48 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.