New CPU help!!! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-08-2007, 11:53 AM   #11 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: New CPU help!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by maroon1 View Post
Hi b1gapl

S3L have very good reviews

One of the reviewers said that he overclocked his Q6600 to 3.0GHz on that motherboard
4 reviews on Newegg doesn't give good backing.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 11:55 AM   #12 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Re: New CPU help!!!

I did some research and I found that the difference between S3L and DS3R

4 SATA ports instead of 8
No RAID
ALC888 vs. ALC889A (onboard Audio Chipset)
No Ultra Durable 2, Ultra Cooling
No 6-Phase Power
__________________

maroon1 is offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 11:56 AM   #13 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: New CPU help!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
4 reviews on Newegg doesn't give good backing.
I don't look at newegg for reviews.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 11:56 AM   #14 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: New CPU help!!!

I guess the Ultra Durable 2 and 6-phase adds to the value.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 11:57 AM   #15 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: New CPU help!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
I don't look at newegg for reviews.
I know. There are many other places for reviews, benchies, etc.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 12:37 PM   #16 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: New CPU help!!!

For what its worth, the ds3r just came down in price. It was only 149 at microcenter when i swapped out to my q6600 and traded in the p5k. From the manual, the ds3r also has the solid state caps which the lower end boards dont.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.