New Build for an Aussie - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-21-2006, 05:52 AM   #21 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
willsko87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,240
Default

Can anyone confirm if Coolmaster PSU's are good? Thanks mophead740!

What RAM should I better getting for my computer?
Are XFX Graphics Cards any good? Would I be better getting an XFX GeForce 7900GT instead of Gigabyte, Asus or Leadtek?
__________________

__________________
http://www.aflonline.com.au



willsko87 is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 05:56 AM   #22 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

well it seems that XFX has a bad reputation on this forum but i personally haven't had a problem with my card and haven't with any XFX cards. presumably they have a bad reputation for Dead on Arrival cards but i don't know of any serious issues with cards that have worked on arrival so i don't see what all the fuss is about. if the card is dead.......then send it back. Coolermaster PSU's are ok but i wouldn't say anything stellar. my Antec or the SmartPower series on the other hand i can't speak highly enough of.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 06:02 AM   #23 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
willsko87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,240
Default

Ok, thanks Nitestick. I take it that the Antec PSU's are great, but they do cost a lot more which would be why. I would think a Coolmaster PSU would have to be better than a generic one though.

I am really confused which Graphics Card to get now. Where can I find heaps of reviews from people who have the product?
__________________
http://www.aflonline.com.au



willsko87 is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 06:09 AM   #24 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 325
Default

try http://www.3davenue.com
thats wat i used wen picking my gfx card
they dont have a huge amount of hardware reviews but the ones they do have are informative and helpful
__________________
Athlon 64 3200+
GigaByte GA K8N-SLI
1GB Corsair Select Value
GigaByte 7300GS
80GB maxtor Hard Disk
Samsung Writemaster DVD-RWDL 16x
Thermaltake mambo case w/ 430 PSU
Windows XP Pro
17\" Proview LCD
mophead740 is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 06:14 AM   #25 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
willsko87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,240
Default

Thanks! I will have a look on there.

With the PSU I found heaps of reviews on NewEgg and it got 5 stars from 141 reviews, which is great, but people said that it doesnt have a PCI Express connector. Will that affect me?
__________________
http://www.aflonline.com.au



willsko87 is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 06:17 AM   #26 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 325
Default

that depends...
can u get a converter to plug in your graphics card
if u cant then that definetly will affect you and u shouldnt buy it
__________________
Athlon 64 3200+
GigaByte GA K8N-SLI
1GB Corsair Select Value
GigaByte 7300GS
80GB maxtor Hard Disk
Samsung Writemaster DVD-RWDL 16x
Thermaltake mambo case w/ 430 PSU
Windows XP Pro
17\" Proview LCD
mophead740 is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 06:28 AM   #27 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
willsko87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,240
Default

3D Avenue gave the Asus A8N SLI Premium a great review so I might stick with that.

I still don't know what RAM I should get. Can someone suggest which DDR2 RAM I need?
__________________
http://www.aflonline.com.au



willsko87 is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 06:31 AM   #28 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 325
Default

how much ram do u want
i think kingston, corsair, geil, team extreem, mushkin and ocz ram is all good stuff
if u cant be stuffed with oc'ing go with kingston, corsair or mushkin
otherwize ocz or team extreem
__________________
Athlon 64 3200+
GigaByte GA K8N-SLI
1GB Corsair Select Value
GigaByte 7300GS
80GB maxtor Hard Disk
Samsung Writemaster DVD-RWDL 16x
Thermaltake mambo case w/ 430 PSU
Windows XP Pro
17\" Proview LCD
mophead740 is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 06:41 AM   #29 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
willsko87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,240
Default

I want 2GB. Do I need 533Mhz, 667Mhz or 800Mhz?
I think will try and get Kingston.
__________________
http://www.aflonline.com.au



willsko87 is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 07:16 AM   #30 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

OCZ value series or premier would be great if you can afford it but, if it doesn't fit into your budget then don't worry. correct me if i'm wrong but isn't the Asus A8N SLI Premium s939?
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.