New to AMD - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-23-2007, 10:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 250
Send a message via AIM to lev2323
Default New to AMD

Ok, couple of questions. I have always built Intel systems, but I am going to build an AMD one for my next gaming rig. I was looking to get this motherboard:
Newegg.com - ASUS M2N-SLI Deluxe Socket AM2 NVIDIA nForce 570 SLI MCP ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail
Above link is the ASUS M2N-SLI deluxe.

Anyways, it says the FSB is 1000MHz, but it takes DDR2 800 ram standard. This is a little confusing, because if memory is bottlenecking the speed at 800MHz, why even have the board rated up to 1GHz? Am I missing something here or is there something different with AMD stuff I am not privy to?

Thanks for your help.

The system I was looking to build was that board, 2G ram, Athlon X2 5200+ CPU, and an 8800GTS 640MB gfx card. I was going to just get the one video card and then eventually get two when I have more funds and run them in SLI. Is this a good way to go? Looking for a system that will potentially last me a few years for gaming, and trying to prepare for games like Crysis and Warhammer. Thoughts?
__________________

__________________
My Computer:
C2D E6420 2.13, FSB 1066MHz
OCZ SLI-ready 1066MHz 5-5-5-15T
eVGA NF63 motherboard
eVGA 8800GTS 640MB
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Windows XP Pro 32 bit
OCZ GameXstream 700w PSU
lev2323 is offline  
Old 07-23-2007, 10:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 184
Default Re: New to AMD

I hear that the 8800GTS 320 is the popular one, best bang for your buck theory. ...

You know, I've always been a AMD guy anre really never noticed that the FSB and memory were different... maybe I just didn't pay attention.

The intel is currently beating AMD in gaming/multi-tasking/pretty much everything with their current line of processors, E6600 and up. I'm not saying that you have to use intel, but just thought I'd post the info.

I would look at the board, but newegg seems to have died, won't load up, so I'll look later...
__________________

__________________
Tech TV is Back!
www.dl.tv
-- watch it, its good stuff.
-------------------------------
AMD Athlon 64 3400+
Powered by: Antec Earth Watts
-------------------------------
ssjheero_yuy99 is offline  
Old 07-24-2007, 06:04 AM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,304
Default Re: New to AMD

Don't worry about SLI. It's just not worth it. When you get ready to upgrade graphics, go with a single card of whatever is top. Right now a single 8800GTX will outperform two 8800GTS. This will hold true as cards advance.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 07-24-2007, 02:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default Re: New to AMD

I've never noticed the difference either. hmm..
And do what trotter said. sli (imo) is a waste of money and always will be.
Static_11 is offline  
Old 07-24-2007, 04:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Re: New to AMD

Quote:
but I am going to build an AMD one for my next gaming rig
Can you tell us why you want to build AMD build ? Intel is currently much better, and there processor overclocks very well

For your information, AMD is not better for gaming.......It is your choice but I'm giving you an advice...........
maroon1 is offline  
Old 07-24-2007, 05:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
M733mhz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 648
Send a message via AIM to M733mhz
Default Re: New to AMD

Wow, lol @ you Maroon, Bigtime.
__________________


M733mhz is offline  
Old 07-25-2007, 03:07 AM   #7 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: New to AMD

AM2+ and AM3 all the way woooo!!!!!!! your choice atm intel is ahead but with am2+ amd is suppose to reclaim the lead but who can really tell until the benches are produced
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 07-25-2007, 10:25 AM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Re: New to AMD

But don't forget that there are many intel mobo that support intel upcoming 45nm processors......
maroon1 is offline  
Old 07-25-2007, 11:10 AM   #9 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: New to AMD

if you want to be soon get the intel
i'd suggest the e6550
__________________

__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.