Need to upgrade my graphics card...Quick question. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-02-2013, 02:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 2
Default Need to upgrade my graphics card...Quick question.

So, for starters...Hi!

With the pleasantries out the way I need a bit of help with picking a graphics card.
I currently have the ridiculously slow Radeon HD 6450, which is about as good for gaming as jamming a biscuit in my PCI slot.

Thing is, I have an Aspire M3920 Motherboard with only the one PCI slot and it looks very cramped for a dual slot card. I've been told I should try one anyway and it should fit but I'd like a few reliable sources before paying out a lot of money for something that might not fit.

underneath my PCI slot there's a small silver box, it juts out from the motherboard a fair bit and makes me wonder if a dual slot would fit, if anyone's familiar with the motherboard I'd love a bit of info.

So far I've been looking into single slot cards, and with the budget I'm on the AFOX 6850 looks to be the best, however if I can fit a dual slot in then I'll broaden my horizons slightly!
__________________

PZKefka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 02:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,276
Default Re: Need to upgrade my graphics card...Quick question.

Any dual slot card will clear the heatsink underneath. Your concern should be in the PSU handling a higher powered card.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 02:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 2
Default Re: Need to upgrade my graphics card...Quick question.

That's good to know, thanks.

The PSU could be an issue, I think it's 300W, but not 100% sure.
PZKefka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 02:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,276
Default Re: Need to upgrade my graphics card...Quick question.

Yea, definitely not enough wattage. For a good card you will need a minimum of 450w and I stress good quality at that.

Depending on your budget I suggest looking at this.
Newegg.com - SeaSonic M12II 520 Bronze 520W ATX12V v2.3 / EPS 12V v2.91 SLI Ready 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Modular Active PFC Power Supply

Or the Corsair TX650 which is 10 dollars more. Either would be suitable for any upgrade option in the future minus super high end cards on the Seasonic.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.