Need to Upgrade - Mobo, Ram, Processor, etc??? - Page 7 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-26-2014, 03:24 PM   #61 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 97
Default Re: Need to Upgrade - Mobo, Ram, Processor, etc???

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
I don't think the 7970 will fit in that.
yup u were right. I measured the case and i have about 9.5-10'' worth of space only!

Any newer/cheaper deals u find so far for video cards?

Edit- What are thoughts about this one http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814500312
__________________

__________________
~ I Heart Technology~
Quicsilver87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2014, 05:06 PM   #62 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,315
Default Re: Need to Upgrade - Mobo, Ram, Processor, etc???

Zotac is decent, but I can't comment on their customer service.

Why not just cut off the bottom portion of the HDD cage to fit a longer GPU?
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2014, 05:32 PM   #63 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 97
Default Re: Need to Upgrade - Mobo, Ram, Processor, etc???

I mean if i really have to i guess i could. I would just need to read up on how to go about doing it I guess. That is only if i get a killer good deal of a GPU of course that is worth going through all of the hassle.

My max limit is $200 for GPU
__________________
~ I Heart Technology~
Quicsilver87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2014, 05:58 PM   #64 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,315
Default Re: Need to Upgrade - Mobo, Ram, Processor, etc???

Most good GPUs are going to be long and it's not hard to take a Dremel out and whack off some small pieces of metal. Just make sure you leave enough room for a HDD or two and you're good.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2014, 02:50 AM   #65 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 97
Default Re: Need to Upgrade - Mobo, Ram, Processor, etc???

So I'm figuring out that if I decide to get a high tier GPU then I will need to also upgrade my PSU.. to above 750....which one do u recommend I get? Nothing too expensive. Whatever money I save I'm going to invest it into the GPU
__________________
~ I Heart Technology~
Quicsilver87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2014, 11:46 AM   #66 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,315
Default Re: Need to Upgrade - Mobo, Ram, Processor, etc???

You don't need that much power.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2014, 09:40 AM   #67 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 97
Default Re: Need to Upgrade - Mobo, Ram, Processor, etc???

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
You don't need that much power.
How much will I need then? Because im sure 500 is not enough for future upgrades. correct?
__________________
~ I Heart Technology~
Quicsilver87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2014, 11:37 AM   #68 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,315
Default Re: Need to Upgrade - Mobo, Ram, Processor, etc???

If you get a quality power supply 500w is more than enough for most all single GPU rigs. If I had a Seasonic M1211 520w right now on my rig it would run fine. If you could swing for a Seasonic S1211 620w you'd be set for a long time.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2015, 10:47 AM   #69 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 97
Default Re: Need to Upgrade - Mobo, Ram, Processor, etc???

Ok so I ended up buying a 280X for $150 and now I am all set! Thanks for all of your help!
__________________
~ I Heart Technology~
Quicsilver87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2015, 10:49 AM   #70 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,315
Default Re: Need to Upgrade - Mobo, Ram, Processor, etc???

Haha about time.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Millennium Trilogy (Girl With The Dragon Tattoo etc etc) Harper Multimedia 10 01-27-2011 01:03 PM
Computer won't start POST etc etc..plz help Kruzz Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 08-09-2007 02:58 PM
FS mobo/ram/cpus etc Ronnie Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 13 07-03-2007 06:48 PM
WTS: Antec 550 PSU, Asus Mobo, AMD 3200 Cpu, 2GB RAM (4x512), Etc. All must go! Vormund Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 30 03-21-2007 02:32 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.