need a lookover please - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-01-2006, 07:25 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

That board is 800mhz but those cpu's are 533 and not hyperthreaded. I am not trying to talk you out of going with intel, My second main rig is a P4 2.6 but it is 800fsb and HT, and dual channel ram. Its a great system. I just don't see the point in spending more money on something that is far insuperior that's all.
__________________

__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 07-01-2006, 07:31 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

I see your point, but will it work for what I need? you'd agree with me that that is far superior to a P3 1 GHz. I also don't have 2 of the same stick to do a dual channel system.
__________________

__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Old 07-02-2006, 01:19 AM   #13 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

Get the socket 775 intel. WAY Better than the 478 version.
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 07-02-2006, 08:39 AM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

lol, found one i like too.

no reviews at TD but at newegg has 7 5 star ratings, so the board must be pretty good. I found it quite interesting(i didnt know this) that the pins are on the mobo not the processor!.

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...566&CatId=1632

Now if i remember correctly, you put in the proc and set the heatsink&fan ontop of that correct?
__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Old 07-02-2006, 09:01 AM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

The pin's are on the cpu not the socket. The socket is female pins and the cpu is male pin's (I don't have to explain the whole male female thing to you do I ?? lol)

I am a little bios I have three Gigabyte boards and I love them, They are rock solid and overclock very well. And It has the Intel chipsets so you get the best of both worlds.

Yes you install the cpu (lift the hold down leaver, align the cpu) add a small amount of thermal paste on the HSF (might have a thermal pad on the heatsink now) then install the Heasink/fan. And don't forget ZIF socket means "Zero Incertian Force" Don't force the cpu in.
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 07-02-2006, 11:08 AM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

thanks for the help. I did read tho that for the 775 the pins are on the mobo not the cpu, either way, I think I like that gigabyte and will probably go with that.
__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Old 07-02-2006, 11:16 AM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

Hey!! cool, there are only contacts on the cpu, I didn't know this ether. You learn something new every day. lol
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 07-02-2006, 11:19 AM   #18 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 110
Default

dude do not get an intel board you'll regret it mine crapped out on me after 9 months
Microsoft_Boy is offline  
Old 07-02-2006, 12:08 PM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

lol, thanks for the help, i just ordered that Gigabyte 775 socket w/ the p4 2.93 GHz. Should be fun. almost 3 times the CPU power of my current server and 50% more ram. i'll be happy

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...297566&CatId=0
__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Old 07-02-2006, 08:57 PM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

heres some pics of the 775, hard to tell on the mobo unless u look at the left side(in the pic) of the socket

http://www.quickpc.co.th/data/Test/62/Socket.jpg

http://www.quickpc.co.th/data/Test/62/NO-PIN.jpg
__________________

__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.