Need Help upgrading very old system to play bf3. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-30-2011, 02:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Ireland
Posts: 6
Question Need Help upgrading very old system to play bf3.

This is the first time I've ever tried to upgrade a computer. I've taken apart a few so I know the parts etc. but I'm on a budget of 500. so its not like I can just buy all the best parts, I'm not sure the power supply is sufficient either at 400watts? I'm not looking to be playing bf3 on max settings or anything. even medium with no lag issues would be great! also I'm not sure if *Red orchestra 2: Heroes of stalingrad* is more power hungry than bf3? That's one of my favorite games! if you guys and gals could go out of your way and give me an idea what I should expect with a budget like that. and if it is enough what I should be looking for in parts? It would be GREATLY! appreciated.

what needs to go. motherboard, Ram, cpu, gpu. maybe the power supply. the HDD isn't the best either but it will have to do if there's not enough money to go around. there's an 80gb + a 250gb Hdd. theres two dvd drives so no money needs to be spent there. Cheers in advance!
__________________

Merc Hartman is offline  
Old 12-30-2011, 02:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord of Bacon
 
Roark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,352
Default Re: Need Help upgrading very old system to play bf3.

Couple of things to help us out:

1) What country are you going to be purchasing parts in?
2) What computer are you currently using? Assuming it was pre-built there should be a model #.
2a) If it isn't a pre-built, what case does this need to fit into, and do you have any more specifics on the PSU (like manufacturer/model #)?
__________________

__________________
Please read through the thread thoroughly before responding.
Nobody wants to read a wall of text, formatting is your friend.

i5 3570k | 8GB G.Skill 1600MHz | R9 290 | SeaSonic 750X
Roark is offline  
Old 12-30-2011, 02:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Ireland
Posts: 6
Default

Hey Roark. I'm living in Ireland. there's not a lot of places to buy parts here. so anywhere online that can ship to Ireland really. it was built way back in 2004, the power supply is an *E tech* model number *MPT-400* as for the case. here's the link. Xoxide X-Blade Extreme Case (Black) at Xoxide!

I'm not sure if I messed up on the reply. its not showing?
Merc Hartman is offline  
Old 12-30-2011, 03:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord of Bacon
 
Roark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,352
Default Re: Need Help upgrading very old system to play bf3.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Merc Hartman View Post
I'm not sure if I messed up on the reply. its not showing?
^ Thats the only thing I see.
__________________
Please read through the thread thoroughly before responding.
Nobody wants to read a wall of text, formatting is your friend.

i5 3570k | 8GB G.Skill 1600MHz | R9 290 | SeaSonic 750X
Roark is offline  
Old 12-30-2011, 05:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Ireland
Posts: 6
Default Re: Need Help upgrading very old system to play bf3.

it's showing up now for me. above that. with the link etc. you see it now?
Merc Hartman is offline  
Old 12-30-2011, 05:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Need Help upgrading very old system to play bf3.

It was moderated. I approved it.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 12-30-2011, 06:09 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Ireland
Posts: 6
Default Re: Need Help upgrading very old system to play bf3.

oh I see, will any of my posts get Moderated again? or is it just the ones with links?
Merc Hartman is offline  
Old 01-06-2012, 03:14 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Ireland
Posts: 6
Default upgrading pc. good parts?

this is a part two of a previous thread. it went dead so I'll start another. here's the parts Im upgrading it with.

AMD Phenom II X4 960T Black Edition, S AM3, 3.0GHz, 8MB Cache, 95W, Retail Price: 95.95

[TABLE="class: savebasTable"]
[TR]
[TD="class: btLN"][/TD]
[TD="class: btDesc"]
1GB Gigabyte HD 6850 OC, 4200MHz GDDR5, GPU 820MHz, 960 Stream Processors, 2x DVI/ HDMI/ DP Price: 119.20

Gigabyte GA-MA770T-UD3, AMD 770, AM3, PCI-E 2.0 (x16), DDR3 1666/1333, SATA 3Gb/s RAID, ATX Price: 57.32

8GB (2x4GB) Corsair DDR3 XMS3 Dominator, PC3-10666 (1333), Non-ECC, CL 9-9-9-24, DHX, XMP, 1.6V Price:46

[TABLE="class: basTable"]
[TR="class: btRow"]
[TD="class: btLN"][/TD]
[TD="class: btDesc"]600W PSU, Corsair Builder Series CMPSU-600CXv2UK, 80% Eff', 80 PLUS, EPS 12V, Quiet Fan, ATX v2.3 Price: 54.72

That add's up to 409. now Ill be paying in euro so thats 496 and in dollars thats $633. what do you think? is it worth it? and what should I expect from these specs? My hdd is getting old too but it will have to do until I can get the funds to replace it. any savings there? or bad parts? all advice is greatly appreciated! btw the case this has to fit into is this one. to be honest Im not sure the motherboard will fit? Xoxide X-Blade Extreme Case (Black) at Xoxide!
[/TD]
[/TR]
[/TABLE]
[/TD]
[/TR]
[/TABLE]
Merc Hartman is offline  
Old 01-06-2012, 11:41 AM   #9 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: upgrading pc. good parts?

you are paying a premium just for aesthics for the corsair dominators.

same speed, cheaper
Corsair Memory 8GB DDR3 1333 Mhz CAS 9 Dual Channel Desktop - CMV8GX3M2A1333C9 - Scan.co.uk

faster speed, cheaper
Corsair Memory XMS3 8GB DDR3 1600 MHz CAS 9 Dual Channel Desktop - CMX8GX3M2B1600C9 - Scan.co.uk
I just said I am against paying premium for looks, but this one is only pennies more
Corsair Memory 8GB Vengeance Jet Black Low Profile 8GB DDR3 1600 MHz CAS 9 XMP Dual Channel Desktop - CML8GX3M2A1600C9 - Scan.co.uk

motherboard with fit.
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 01-06-2012, 11:50 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Need Help upgrading very old system to play bf3.

@ Merc Hartman, your threads have been merged together. One thread per topic.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ugrading video card to play BF3. RossNews System Upgrades 3 01-02-2012 06:16 AM
How well will my system run BF3? memory PC Gaming 4 11-24-2011 04:01 AM
I'm upgrading for BF3, but I don't know which direction to go. jonmon6691 New Systems | Building and Buying 7 06-16-2011 12:48 PM
upgrading to play WoW blackhawk13 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 14 07-30-2005 02:58 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.