Multiple Monitor Support - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-03-2007, 03:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 6
Default Multiple Monitor Support

I'm about to get a new computer. At first I was considering just getting rid of my current old CRT monitor, but I've been thinking it might be cool if I can use it as a dual monitor for the new computer.

The new computer I'm looking at comes with a GeForce 6100 graphics card, which I believe supports multiple displays (correct me if I'm wrong).

I read an article about this (albeit from 2004) that said that the best program to use for multiple-monitor support is something called Ultramon, which allows you to set different configurations and hotkeys and such. Is Ultramon still the best? Will I really need it if the new PC has Vista Home Premium?

Please tell me if there's anything else about this that I should know. As you might have guessed, I'm not very tech-savvy.
__________________

paco joe is offline  
Old 06-03-2007, 03:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default Re: Multiple Monitor Support

the nV drivers should handle it fine. ultramon is mainly useful for making the GUI better, such as having a second task bar on the other screen, and buttons to make applications jump to the other monitor.

as far as I can see, the 6100 is a integrated chip, so it wouldnt be able to do multiple monitors.
__________________

joshd is offline  
Old 06-03-2007, 03:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Multiple Monitor Support

You don't need Ultramon, to run dual monitors. Just plug in the two monitors, and set it to dual view or horizontal span, through the nview display manager. Like joshd said, the 6100 is an integrated graphics chip, and won't be able to do dual monitors. Although I have a computer with an integrated 6100 graphics, and it does support two monitors. Some motherboards with the 6100 do. If your motherboard has two display ports, then you can do a dual monitor setup. If not, then you would have to buy a graphic card that has two display ports.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-03-2007, 03:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Multiple Monitor Support

Like Josh said, the 6100 is an integrated chipset. I sincerely doubt that the motherboard has two outputs.

The 6100 supports PCI-E graphics, though. You can get a cheap GFX card (any of the 6xxx line will be an improvement over the integrated) and have two monitor output as long as the card has two outputs.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 06-03-2007, 03:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default Re: Multiple Monitor Support

Newegg.com - SAPPHIRE 100945L-BK Radeon 7000 64MB 64-bit DDR PCI Video Card - Retail

that'd do you nicely, provided you plan on playing no games AT ALL.


if you do want to play the occasional game on low graphics:

Newegg.com - EVGA 128-TC-2N27-S2 GeForce 6200 LE TC Supporting 512MB (On board 128MB) 64-bit GDDR2 PCI Express x16 Video Card - Retail

or maybe try and get yourself a 6600GT cheaply from ebay
joshd is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
multiple problems sum1nowhere Viruses, Spyware and Malware 16 06-03-2007 10:28 PM
multiple svchost.exe??? liquidmonkey Viruses, Spyware and Malware 2 05-30-2007 05:38 PM
multiple adapters uzi9mm Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 1 05-24-2007 12:21 AM
multiple svchost.exe??? liquidmonkey Viruses, Spyware and Malware 3 05-22-2007 08:22 AM
Multiple sound cards DANJAMAN Computer Audio and Multimedia 1 05-02-2007 10:22 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.