mixing psu and case brands - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-01-2005, 11:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 15
Default mixing psu and case brands

is it okay if i get a thermaltake tsunami case/ and put an Antec 500w HE in it?? does anyone know what type of connectors that psu comes with

thanks
__________________

quick123 is offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 12:19 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Southern New Jersey
Posts: 331
Default

1. You'll find all kinds of mix between cases and power supplies. My new build is a a Thermaltake case with an Antec PSU.

2. You got the right idea with the 500w but if I am not mistaken that particular model is with modular cables and I have been told to stay away from modular PSUs. For 2 to 4 bucks more you can get an Antec power supply such as this:

http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produc...uctCode=270024
__________________

GoodNews101 is offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 12:32 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 15
Default

Thanks
quick123 is offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 12:50 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Southern New Jersey
Posts: 331
Default

Probably the single most important thing to keep in mind about the PSU, besides reliabilty of the manufacturer, is what does it supply on it's 12v rails. I first learned about this all important aspect over at computerforums.com, specifically thier writing entitled, "PSU 101." I strongly suggest you read it. You see, you can have a power supply claiming it gives out 500 watts but if its rails fail to give the proper power where needed, so what. You'll be unpowered. And with today's hardware, especially for gaming, the PSU is crucial. Too many people cut corners here and as many people have told me the PSU is the backbone to all the rest.

Enermax, Fortran, Antec are to name a few. You can spend more if you'd like. They're out there.
GoodNews101 is offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 07:01 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

most cases and PSU's are ATX. most PSU's will work in most cases.

you can use any old cheap case, but you need a good PSU. cheap cases that come with PSU's... use the case, but throw out the PSU.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 01:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 276
Send a message via AIM to Camden
Default

Notice the lil ploy there though; the '550w' psu they have listed is the maximum wattage, not the continuous wattage. Continuous is prolly around 450-500 then, kinda bothers me how they don't have that listed. Antec though is a good psu. There's also a guide written by Static_11 in the "building, buying, upgrading for high performance pc's" forum that has a good section on psu's written by ste. check it out if you want more info


Quote:
cheap cases that come with PSU's... use the case, but throw out the PSU.
well said :amazed:
__________________

Camden is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.