Migrating from IDE HDD to Sata HDD - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-11-2008, 09:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 9
Default Migrating from IDE HDD to Sata HDD

I recently re-built a computer with the following components
MB: Gigabyte GA-MA78GM-S2H
CPU: AMD Athlon X2 (2.2GHZ)
2 GB Corsair DDR memory
SATA HDD

This project was a upgrade, I used the previous PSU and case.
While the old system (XP-2) was still functional I bought a SATA add-in card and mirrored the old HDD to the new SATA drive. The SATA drive showed up in Windows Explorer and was working.

When I replaced the MB and other new components, I transfered the old IDE HDD and did a repair install of XP.
So far so good but now the SATA drive doesn't show up in explorer.

How do I get the MB to recognize the SATA drive?
In the BIOS SATA drives are config. as IDE, not RAID.

I'm hoping that I can get the SATA drive recognized and then eventually disconnect the IDE drive.

Thanks in advance
Richard
p.s. the Gigabyte manual only has instructions for configuring SATA drives in a RAID array.
__________________

bendrichard is offline  
Old 05-11-2008, 09:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Migrating from IDE HDD to Sata HDD

so let me get this straight. you want to raid an IDE and an SATA?
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 05-11-2008, 11:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 9
Default Re: Migrating from IDE HDD to Sata HDD

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sora View Post
so let me get this straight. you want to raid an IDE and an SATA?
Sorry if I was confusing.
No, I do not want to raid.
All I want is for the MB to recognize the SATA drive so I can eliminate the IDE drive.
bendrichard is offline  
Old 05-12-2008, 05:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Migrating from IDE HDD to Sata HDD

That will be in the BIOS. But you will have to set the SATA Drive as the boot priority. You will also have to make sure that the IDE drives are not the ones marked for Boot.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IDE to SATA converter jfenwick Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 04-23-2008 02:18 PM
SATA HDD problems merlin77 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 04-17-2008 04:21 AM
IDE hard drive to SATA connector? dashogun New Systems | Building and Buying 1 12-29-2007 09:08 AM
Need adapter to connect IDE drive to SATA port on mobo. Mr. LL Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 12-24-2007 07:43 PM
IDE RAID and SATA RAID togather abadjay Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 10-02-2007 02:37 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.