Maybe my processor? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-26-2011, 12:11 AM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Wyoming, USA
Posts: 58
Default Re: More RAM?

My CPU is sucked up at 50 by IE9, Ram wont affect that at all will it? I definitely need more RAM with only 9 MB left available. Thank you very much for the insight and your knowledge Mindover, it is very much appreciated...
__________________

BloodyMercy is offline  
Old 04-26-2011, 12:21 AM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Maybe my processor?

2GB is perfectly fine with Win7 32bit, it's the 64bit flavor that you wouldn't want less than 2GB.
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 04-26-2011, 12:26 AM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Wyoming, USA
Posts: 58
Default Re: Maybe my processor?

Would 4 GB benefit me noticably, I'd like to limp ole frankenstein along as long as possible...lol, it amazes me that the ddr3 are all cheaper, I don't think my motherboard can support those though...
BloodyMercy is offline  
Old 04-26-2011, 03:06 PM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Maybe my processor?

4GB would benefit and will help when you have more applications open, yes, but, your computer, being 32bit can not recognize all 4GB and use it all. And no, your motherboard can't support DDR3, DDR2 is at the end of it's life, DDR3 is now the mainstream standard.
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Xeon Processor Vs i7 Processor mikemelo1369 New Systems | Building and Buying 1 08-09-2010 06:58 PM
changeing out AMD 350 processor with AMD 475 processor polywog73 System Upgrades 2 02-21-2008 02:22 PM
AMD Processor vs Intel Processor Snake-Eyes Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 945 04-22-2007 07:57 AM
Pentium D (3.0ghz) Dual Core Processor vs AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+ Dual Core Processor Furion New Systems | Building and Buying 11 04-08-2006 11:52 AM
new processor/motherboard installed.... old processor shown, also crashes lokivn Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 9 12-10-2004 05:25 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.