Looking to upgrade my CPU - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-05-2006, 10:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 91
Default Looking to upgrade my CPU

Here is my motherboard:http://tw2005.giga-byte.com/Motherbo...cts_GA-7ZM.htm

and here is the CPU support list: http://tw2005.giga-byte.com/Motherbo...ist_GA-7ZM.htm

I know it may be obvious but is the most power CPU that is compatible with my mother board the
AthlonXP 1500+(Palomino,.18u)

Or is there another brand of CPU that I can buy that would be more powerful
__________________

mattd is offline  
Old 10-05-2006, 11:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 639
Default

Ummm well ok... You cant buy socket A (462) cpu's anymore.. The best way is to get a new Motherboard and Cpu... What is your budget?
__________________

__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 @ 3400Mhz
Asus P5B-E
BFG 8800GTX OC
Samsung 400 GB Sata II
Corsair XMS2 2GB DDR2 800 5-5-5-12
Zalman CNPS-9700 LED
Antec Nine Hundred
Hp W2207 22" Widescreen Monitor
Windows Vista Home Premium
Silverstone ST60F 600W PSU
Razer Copperhead Tempest Blue Gaming Mouse
gmanych is offline  
Old 10-05-2006, 11:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

http://www.geeks.com/products_sc.asp?cat=282
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...ubCategory=343

Take your pick, this was the best one I could find quickly, Sempron 2600+ for $47.99 w/free shipping
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819104205

Not too expensive but it may not be a big jump over what you're currently running as this is a lower end cpu. What is your current processor?
Your money may be better spent towards a Socket 939 setup.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 10-05-2006, 11:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 91
Default

I have a 1GHZ processor, Everything on my computer is still up to date except my processor so i don't want to upgrade. On the CPU comparison sheet it says that the Sempron 2600+ is N/A. So how do you know its compatible with my motherboard. Reason being is that i bought this CPU off ebay and it doesn't work, and it also says N/A on that sheet:http://cgi.ebay.ca/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?...MEWN%3AIT&rd=1
mattd is offline  
Old 10-06-2006, 01:29 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

it would seem that the 1500+ pally is the most powerful that is compatible. you may as well buy a new motherboard and cpu as to use a more powerful cpu (which you want to buy anyway) will require a new motherboard. at that point it is no longer worth sticking with an athlon xp.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 10-06-2006, 01:43 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 639
Default

Well why not overclock it a bit... I overclocked my Athlon Xp 1800+ to 2000+ and it workd great...
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 @ 3400Mhz
Asus P5B-E
BFG 8800GTX OC
Samsung 400 GB Sata II
Corsair XMS2 2GB DDR2 800 5-5-5-12
Zalman CNPS-9700 LED
Antec Nine Hundred
Hp W2207 22" Widescreen Monitor
Windows Vista Home Premium
Silverstone ST60F 600W PSU
Razer Copperhead Tempest Blue Gaming Mouse
gmanych is offline  
Old 10-06-2006, 10:44 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 91
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nitestick
it would seem that the 1500+ pally is the most powerful that is compatible. you may as well buy a new motherboard and cpu as to use a more powerful cpu (which you want to buy anyway) will require a new motherboard. at that point it is no longer worth sticking with an athlon xp.
The 1500+ go for 15$ on ebay so maybe i will get that until i upgrade, I know its onl a increase of 300mhz but what ever.


I tried overclocking but my system won't let me do it. Apparently i'm locked out of it or something.
mattd is offline  
Old 10-06-2006, 02:47 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

Sorry, I wasn' paying full attention to the sheet. If you can find a 150f0+ pal for $15 like you said you may as well get it, it's only $15 after all and it should be a noticeable upgrade.
__________________

__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.