Looking to Improve Civilization - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-11-2012, 03:35 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 10
Default Re: Looking to Improve Civilization

I looked at the video card you suggested. It says PCI express 3.0. Will that fit into my computer which says its 2.0. Also, what is the power supply thing. Does that take strain off the CPU, (im assuming the CPU is what powers the video card, correct me if im wrong). Also, the power supply looks like it has all kinds of wires and stuff. Is that something that you have to get soldered in or are those just plugs.
__________________

DarthDooku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 03:39 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 10
Default Re: Looking to Improve Civilization

What is pagefile. Is that something I should look into or is that just how the RAM works.
__________________

DarthDooku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 03:50 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 10
Default Re: Looking to Improve Civilization

If you get a monitor with a higher resolutioin than the maximum setting in the game, will it enhance performance or will it just stop at the max setting.
DarthDooku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 03:56 PM   #14 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default Re: Looking to Improve Civilization

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarthDooku View Post
I looked at the video card you suggested. It says PCI express 3.0. Will that fit into my computer which says its 2.0. Also, what is the power supply thing. Does that take strain off the CPU, (im assuming the CPU is what powers the video card, correct me if im wrong). Also, the power supply looks like it has all kinds of wires and stuff. Is that something that you have to get soldered in or are those just plugs.
PCI-E is all backwards compatible. If you have a 16x slot (which you should) it'll work.
Power supply feeds the power (electricity) to your parts to make them work. The cables plug in. You need a minimum of 400w to power your system and that particular GPU. Unfortunately, that 400w is the best you can buy and the 7750 is the best card you can get for the setup. It isn't the best, but it is way better than what you currently have.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarthDooku View Post
What is pagefile. Is that something I should look into or is that just how the RAM works.
Pagefile is a "file" that Windows uses when your RAM gets loaded it puts unused items from RAM into the pagefile which is saved on your HDD. Nothing you should worry about as it's automatic.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarthDooku View Post
If you get a monitor with a higher resolutioin than the maximum setting in the game, will it enhance performance or will it just stop at the max setting.
In newer games the maximum setting is always the maximum your monitor will go. The higher the res the lower performance is because a higher resolution taxes your GPU more. It just looks better.

Also, use the edit button so you aren't multi-posting. Mods frown on that.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 04:36 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 10
Default Re: Looking to Improve Civilization

One more question and youve been a lot of help, thanks. What do you think is the most resolution that video card can handle.
DarthDooku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 04:53 PM   #16 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default Re: Looking to Improve Civilization

It would probably be a better idea to run your native res and simply turn down graphics settings instead.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 01:15 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 10
Default Re: Looking to Improve Civilization

So you dont think a new monitor will make much of a difference?
__________________

DarthDooku is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Civilization 5 CompaQQer PC Gaming 3 11-24-2010 02:26 PM
Civilization IV Ethan_Kaizer PC Gaming 1 10-13-2008 12:25 PM
civilization threemooses PC Gaming 2 01-06-2006 12:27 PM
Anyone here have Civilization IV? Thresh PC Gaming 11 11-02-2005 11:41 PM
Civilization 4 j4ckaL PC Gaming 7 09-08-2005 05:06 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.