Intel Pentium 4 and Intel Core - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-13-2008, 09:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 54
Default Intel Pentium 4 and Intel Core

whats the difference between intel pentium 4 and intel core? i was looking at the requirements for crysis and i noticed this and I was wondering if somebody could explain to me the difference...


Intel Pentium 4 2.8 GHz (3.2 GHz for Vista), Intel Core 2.0 GHz (2.2 GHz for Vista),


Crysis - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

thxx
__________________

computerneeder is offline  
Old 02-13-2008, 09:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Inquiry - The Dark Cheese
 
darksideleader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 953
Default Re: Intel Pentium 4 and Intel Core

Core architure is basically core 2 duo's celeron 4xx, pentium dual-core, the new stuff.

if you look at it like this:
Intel Pentium 4 2.8 GHz (3.2 GHz for Vista), Intel Core 2.0 GHz (2.2 GHz for Vista)

You could say u can use a p4 @ 2.8 but that would only equal a Core 2 duo at 2ghz
__________________

__________________
Runnin' Stock, Cool, Quiet and Fast
Q6700
Thermaltake Big Typhoon w/ Scythe Kama PWN Fan
MSI P6N SLI Platinum
OCZ Vista Performance Platinum 4x2GB
2x Western Digital Caviar Blue 500GB RAID 0
HD Radeon 3450 *Temp* *8800GT SLI Coming*
Acer AL2216W 22" LCD Monitor + 17" Samsung Sync Master 750
Antec TruePower Trio 650 Watt
Power Up Standard
Windows 7 Home Premium (64-bit)
darksideleader is offline  
Old 02-13-2008, 09:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Intel Pentium 4 and Intel Core

Quote:
Originally Posted by darksideleader View Post
Core architure is basically core 2 duo's celeron 4xx, pentium dual-core, the new stuff.

if you look at it like this:
Intel Pentium 4 2.8 GHz (3.2 GHz for Vista), Intel Core 2.0 GHz (2.2 GHz for Vista)

You could say u can use a p4 @ 2.8 but that would only equal a Core 2 duo at 2ghz
not even, cause the core 2 duo is dual core where a p4 is single, so its even less performance.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 02-13-2008, 09:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
DawnOfDoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 998
Send a message via MSN to DawnOfDoom Send a message via Yahoo to DawnOfDoom
Default Re: Intel Pentium 4 and Intel Core

Dual Cores smack around the old P4 like it was nothing the same can be said for Pentium D's i just upgraded to a e4500 from a pentium d 940 (discontinued) went from 3.2ghz to 2.2 and still this new CPU smacks it around like a little toy.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oreo View Post
That was an epic forum speech, Doom is tech-forums very own Martin Luther King.
Don't Tell any one but I know who Crunch is...

I Do accept support requests via PM, MSN, and e-mail

If I have been helpful to you in any way please click the scale under my name
DawnOfDoom is offline  
Old 02-13-2008, 10:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 40
Default Re: Intel Pentium 4 and Intel Core

Quote:
Originally Posted by DawnOfDoom View Post
Dual Cores smack around the old P4 like it was nothing
Yea, when i used to lan with my friends, my P4 is always the last to load...thats why im building a new rig very soon.
__________________
Antec P180
-Asus Maximus Formula X38 Mobo
-Intel E2180 (2.0) @2.81
-8800gs 384mb
-2g Corsair XMS2 DDR2 800
-Silencer 610W
-Samsung SATA DVD drive.
-Seagate 7200 rpm 300gb HDD
the_tai is offline  
Old 02-13-2008, 10:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
DawnOfDoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 998
Send a message via MSN to DawnOfDoom Send a message via Yahoo to DawnOfDoom
Default Re: Intel Pentium 4 and Intel Core

haha poor thing
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oreo View Post
That was an epic forum speech, Doom is tech-forums very own Martin Luther King.
Don't Tell any one but I know who Crunch is...

I Do accept support requests via PM, MSN, and e-mail

If I have been helpful to you in any way please click the scale under my name
DawnOfDoom is offline  
Old 02-14-2008, 06:00 AM   #7 (permalink)
Inquiry - The Dark Cheese
 
darksideleader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 953
Default Re: Intel Pentium 4 and Intel Core

Quote:
Originally Posted by ricanflow View Post
not even, cause the core 2 duo is dual core where a p4 is single, so its even less performance.
im not saying it is, im just looking at it from another perspective.
__________________
Runnin' Stock, Cool, Quiet and Fast
Q6700
Thermaltake Big Typhoon w/ Scythe Kama PWN Fan
MSI P6N SLI Platinum
OCZ Vista Performance Platinum 4x2GB
2x Western Digital Caviar Blue 500GB RAID 0
HD Radeon 3450 *Temp* *8800GT SLI Coming*
Acer AL2216W 22" LCD Monitor + 17" Samsung Sync Master 750
Antec TruePower Trio 650 Watt
Power Up Standard
Windows 7 Home Premium (64-bit)
darksideleader is offline  
Old 02-14-2008, 10:27 AM   #8 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: Intel Pentium 4 and Intel Core

core is the way to go
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 02-14-2008, 10:55 AM   #9 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Intel Pentium 4 and Intel Core

Core =/= Core2Duo. Core was an earlier architecture, improving over the P4, but not a Core2.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 02-14-2008, 11:00 AM   #10 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: Intel Pentium 4 and Intel Core

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
Core =/= Core2Duo. Core was an earlier architecture, improving over the P4, but not a Core2.
thats what I meant.
__________________

__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Processor confusion Intel Core 2's zwh02 New Systems | Building and Buying 16 01-22-2008 02:29 AM
New Intel Allendale Processors & Price Cuts___Oct 21st maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 29 10-14-2007 11:50 AM
Intel core duo T2050 17Inc.Widescreen Laptop lovecompu New Technology and Products 0 09-24-2007 10:06 AM
AMD Triple Core? Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 09-19-2007 07:36 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.