I am lookin at building a computer - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-18-2006, 08:31 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 406
Default

well compatibility is easy to check just make sure that everything you get has the same port in the mother board (ex s939 processor get a s939 mobo)
__________________

__________________
AMD 3200
2x512 coasair valueselect
eVGA 6800gs
MSI Neo4-f
Anec true power 480 watts

-92% of teens have moved on to rap. If you are part of the 8% who still listen to real music, copy this.
SomeIranianKid is offline  
Old 03-18-2006, 09:10 PM   #12 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

k first of all list the parts you already have and are thinking of keeping. we can help you from there. we no ur budget and ur use. we need to know the parts you already have. cause u sure as **** aint gonna build a good rig for $500.
__________________

john3 is offline  
Old 03-18-2006, 10:57 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 80
Send a message via AIM to evilstumpy
Default ok here they are my specs

its a Dimension 4300 its older its hanging on though. Its slow....real slow here are the specs plz help

Processor

Manufacturer Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 1500MHz
Clock Speed 1.5GHz
L2 Cache Size 256

Memory

512 Mb

Network Card

Adapters Realtek RTL8139 Family PCI Fast Ethernet NIC - Packet Scheduler Miniport
Storage
Drive Type Drive Size Total Available Space Used Space
C: NTFS 37.26Gb 29.34Gb 7.912Gb


Hardware
Type Description
DVD/CD-ROM Drives _NEC NR-7800A
LITE-ON DVDRW LDW-851S
Disk Drives WDC WD400BB-00DEA0 37.26Gb
USB DISK USB Device 0.053Gb
Display Adapters NVIDIA GeForce2 MX/MX 400 (Microsoft Corporation) 32Mb
Floppy Disk Drives (Standard floppy disk drives) Floppy disk drive
IDE ATA/ATAPI Controllers Intel(r) 82801BA Bus Master IDE Controller
Primary IDE Channel
Secondary IDE Channel
Keyboards Standard 101/102-Key or Microsoft Natural PS/2 Keyboard
Mice and Other Pointing Devices Microsoft USB IntelliMouse Optical
Monitors Plug and Play Monitor - (Standard monitor types)
Sound Devices Creative SB Live! Value (WDM)
USB Controllers Intel(r) 82801BA/BAM USB Universal Host Controller - 2442
Intel(r) 82801BA/BAM USB Universal Host Controller - 2444


Ya i know it sucks but hey i got it for free about a couple years ago so.
I was looking at this one Biostar M7NCG 400 Socket A Barebone Kit
evilstumpy is offline  
Old 03-18-2006, 11:05 PM   #14 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

what socket is your mobo? 478? or older?
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 03-18-2006, 11:06 PM   #15 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

keep:
sound card
hard drive
network card
DVD burner
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-18-2006, 11:06 PM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 80
Send a message via AIM to evilstumpy
Default

lol I have no idea how do i find that out? man i feel dumb
__________________
Ultra 1024MB PC3200 DDR 400MHz Memory
ASUS A8N5X ATX AMD Motherboard
eVGA Geforce 7600GT 256-P2-N553-AX
FSP Group (Fortron Source) AX450-PN, 12cm FAN, version 2.0, 2 SATA, PCI Express, 450W Power Supply
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ 1GHz HT Socket 939 Processor
160 Gb Hardrive
evilstumpy is offline  
Old 03-18-2006, 11:10 PM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 80
Send a message via AIM to evilstumpy
Default

How can i find that out?
__________________
Ultra 1024MB PC3200 DDR 400MHz Memory
ASUS A8N5X ATX AMD Motherboard
eVGA Geforce 7600GT 256-P2-N553-AX
FSP Group (Fortron Source) AX450-PN, 12cm FAN, version 2.0, 2 SATA, PCI Express, 450W Power Supply
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ 1GHz HT Socket 939 Processor
160 Gb Hardrive
evilstumpy is offline  
Old 03-18-2006, 11:21 PM   #18 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

download and run CPU-Z. that will tell you your motherboard socket.
www.cpuid.com

older Pentium 4's used socket 423. then they used socket 478, and after that, socket 775
I'm guessing yours is a socket 423, but it may be a 478

anyway.
you should get a new:
motherboard
CPU
video card
RAM
power supply
case

and possibly:
hard drive (as well as keeping your old one)
monitor (but you could probabbly use your old one)
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-18-2006, 11:25 PM   #19 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 80
Send a message via AIM to evilstumpy
Default

Mine is a mPGA-478 is that the right thing?
__________________
Ultra 1024MB PC3200 DDR 400MHz Memory
ASUS A8N5X ATX AMD Motherboard
eVGA Geforce 7600GT 256-P2-N553-AX
FSP Group (Fortron Source) AX450-PN, 12cm FAN, version 2.0, 2 SATA, PCI Express, 450W Power Supply
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ 1GHz HT Socket 939 Processor
160 Gb Hardrive
evilstumpy is offline  
Old 03-18-2006, 11:28 PM   #20 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

it's socket 478 then
PGA = Pin Grid Array
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.