HP CPU Upgrade - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-23-2006, 09:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 456
Send a message via AIM to meefle
Default HP CPU Upgrade

I have a HP Pavilion 4540 with a Celeron 433MHz CPU (yea i kno, its slow) So i'm probalby goin to upgrade it alittle (maxed out the RAM @ 256MB) and i was lookin for a new CPU. The mobo manual says its a socket 370 and it supports Intel Celerons in a Plastic Pin Grid Array (PPGA). So i'm lookin on ebay for a new celeron but idk wut the PPGA thing is. it also says it has a 66mhz fsb up to 100mhz. i havent looked much but i found this one: Intel Celeron Tualatin
its an Asus MEBVM 1.00 mobo

btw - dont recommend buyin a new computer since i have a P4 as noted in my sig. this is just a back-up computer that i use at my other house.
__________________

__________________
*Opteron 165 1.8Ghz
*DFI Lanparty UT nF4 Ultra-D
*HIS Hightech X1900XT 512MB w/ Zalman VF900 (Core: 690Mhz, Mem: 1500Mhz)
*G.Skill 1GB DDR 400
*Kingwin Mutant X Series
*HP IDE Lightscribe DVD Burner
*Seagate Barracuda 80GB SATA II
*Maxtor 80GB IDE
*OCZ Gamexstream 600W PSU
meefle is offline  
Old 02-24-2006, 06:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 333
Default

That Mobo is so old that you should just buy a cheap Mobo/CPU combo.
__________________

__________________
3 different OS, so yep I\'m confused.
m3incorp is offline  
Old 02-24-2006, 07:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

you just need to know what the max speed is on the motherboard. Otherwise, yeah, the FSB matches.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 02-25-2006, 01:40 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 408
Send a message via AIM to neweyedeya18
Default suggest

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819104249
with a
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813135151
best u can get for cheap, just o/c
__________________
neweyedeya18 is offline  
Old 02-25-2006, 02:00 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 57
Default

i concur you would probably be better off getting a mobo/cpu combo. here are a few(keep in mind this is tigerdirect.com prices so they arent the best)

Mach Speed Viper K8M8MS Socket 754 MicroATX Motherboard and AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Processor for $140

off topic but this is a nice combo pack as well :

eVGA GeForce 7800 GT 256MB PCIe Video Card w/ Free eVGA 133-K8-NF41 Motherboard for $340 at td

back to the mobo/cpus

MSI K8N Neo4-F NVIDIA Socket 939 ATX Motherboard and an AMD Athlon 64 3200+ 2.0GHz Processor with Fan for $265

again keep in mind these are all tigerdirect.com prices and they tend to be over priced, but sometimes they have good deals. im not too sure about the msi mobo but idk much about msi so ill leave it for more feedback and you guys decide.

edit just noticed two of them were microATX mobos so i scrapped them
__________________
light a candle for the sinners, set the world on fire.....
devilstar187 is offline  
Old 02-25-2006, 02:05 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 408
Send a message via AIM to neweyedeya18
Default

yea thats definately not bad for the 754 mobo and the evga i spent 300 on the vc and i would have spent the extra 40 to have an extra 754 mobo for sure, tigerdirect is often overpriced but if u are ordering cheaper items the shipping difference to newegg will pay off...
__________________
neweyedeya18 is offline  
Old 02-27-2006, 09:14 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 456
Send a message via AIM to meefle
Default

a couple problems, first i dont want to spend more than $50 for this computer since i use it two or three times a week. Second, the RAM is PC66 and i think its 164-pin or something like that. Third, the case is a micro atx and space is very very limited (i mean very limited, i had to remove the mobo from the back to upgrade the RAM).
__________________
*Opteron 165 1.8Ghz
*DFI Lanparty UT nF4 Ultra-D
*HIS Hightech X1900XT 512MB w/ Zalman VF900 (Core: 690Mhz, Mem: 1500Mhz)
*G.Skill 1GB DDR 400
*Kingwin Mutant X Series
*HP IDE Lightscribe DVD Burner
*Seagate Barracuda 80GB SATA II
*Maxtor 80GB IDE
*OCZ Gamexstream 600W PSU
meefle is offline  
Old 02-27-2006, 11:24 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default

pc chips combo for $80: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813185065
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 02-27-2006, 11:32 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

If you need some PC133 ram or something, send me a PM. I can hook you up with some sticks of 128mb PC133 ram for pretty cheap...

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.