How do I know if I need better cooling? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-19-2014, 08:03 PM   #21 (permalink)
Awkward moment when...
 
Gabis1207's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 252
Default Re: How do I know if I need better cooling?

What's the difference between the 212 Evo and the T4 on the same page as linked above? One is $40, the other is $30. They also look about the same..

Also:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pyrothrillah View Post
If you don't have an amazon account I would recommend making one and signing up for the Amazon Prime trial...
Thanks, but I'm not old enough. =P
__________________

Gabis1207 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2014, 08:16 PM   #22 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,280
Default Re: How do I know if I need better cooling?

The EVO is better due to design.

» Blog Archive » Cooler Master Hyper T4 Test and Review
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2014, 03:49 PM   #23 (permalink)
Awkward moment when...
 
Gabis1207's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 252
Default Re: How do I know if I need better cooling?

Going out to buy the Evo cooler tomorrow.
I was talking to a friend of mine, and he downloaded the HWMonitor program also, and it read that he too was breaking 80 degrees. Is it possible that the CPU is fine, but that either the program or the sensor is faulty, or are we both just really bad at planning out our computers?
Gabis1207 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2014, 04:08 PM   #24 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,280
Default Re: How do I know if I need better cooling?

Use Coretemp instead. Standalone version.

http://www.alcpu.com/CoreTemp/php/download.php?id=3
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2014, 04:20 PM   #25 (permalink)
Awkward moment when...
 
Gabis1207's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 252
Default Re: How do I know if I need better cooling?

CoreTemp's reading at the very bottom (I'm guessing that's where it's displayed) is 0 degrees..?
Gabis1207 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2014, 04:21 PM   #26 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,280
Default Re: How do I know if I need better cooling?

THen your sensor is flawed. Put a full load on it to see if it actually reads anything. If not I would say faulty sensor.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2014, 04:24 PM   #27 (permalink)
Awkward moment when...
 
Gabis1207's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 252
Default Re: How do I know if I need better cooling?

This is the readout from the HWMonitor.
I don't know, but wouldn't this one also read 0C if my sensors were bad?

Gabis1207 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2014, 04:30 PM   #28 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,280
Default Re: How do I know if I need better cooling?

HWMonitor utilizes as many sensors as it can pick up whereas Coretemp is made to read from one main sensor. You could be getting bogus readings in HWMonitor whereas Coretemp would just show a 0. It's a known issue with current AMD processors to have a sensor bug. Some flatout don't work, others will read idle temps wrong. That's why I said give it a full load and see what it does.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2014, 04:32 PM   #29 (permalink)
Awkward moment when...
 
Gabis1207's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 252
Default Re: How do I know if I need better cooling?

I gave it as full a load as I could. Ran a screen recorder, Adobe After effects, and several instances of Minecraft. Here's the results.

http://i.imgur.com/PZGCbXm.png
Gabis1207 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2014, 04:38 PM   #30 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,280
Default Re: How do I know if I need better cooling?

That's still only 52% CPU usage though. Run Prime95 as a stress and then see what happens. If your computer doesn't shut off automatically from the temps the program is showing then the temps are bogus.

Your other option is to just get the cooler and install it while not worrying about it.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cooling

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Better Priced Laptop same or Better Spec's? Indobos Laptops and Notebooks 1 12-02-2009 08:36 PM
Time tracking with Klok gets better and better Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 01-01-2009 08:18 PM
I KNOW, I KNOW......but i still need gaming computer help The Fox New Systems | Building and Buying 36 05-11-2006 07:52 AM
AMD processors better for gaming & Intel processors better for video editing? Sevenor Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 6 05-02-2005 10:50 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.