Hi! I need help and saw this forum - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-20-2014, 05:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: US
Posts: 6
Default Hi! I need help and saw this forum

Hello!
I created an account here because it looks like this is the kind of community that will tell me exactly what I need to know. So here we go.

I own a Dell Dimension 9200. Don't laugh yet, it's fairly beefed up (see my profile for more info). Anyway, I have an Intel C2Q Q6600 in this computer, and it generally peaks all four cores at 100% when running intense games. It's clearly the bottleneck in my PC. So I decided to overclock it, but even a slight clock speed increase throws temperatures into an uncomfortable range.

I'm using the stock Dell cooling system on this computer, which I'm sure isn't exactly the best thing I could possibly get. The specs on this system can be found here. Does anyone know of a better cooling system that would be compatible with this machine? I'm fairly experienced with computer building, but I've never ventured into cooling before and have almost no idea what I'm doing. I just know that I found this fan, which has a better airflow rate. Will this fan work? Does anyone know of another cheaper/better fan that will work?

Sorry for the rambling, and thanks for helping a new guy out.

Glad to be here!
__________________

tstehler1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2014, 08:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,286
Default Re: Hi! I need help and saw this forum

Nothing in your profile so I'll just ask. You upgrade the PSU and motherboard in this thing? Because if not I doubt you're actually OCing and if you were the PSU probably is not good enough to handle the extra load.

Getting a noisy Delta isn't going to solve your issue. You need actual better cooling.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2014, 08:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
fallenapples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 376
Default Re: Hi! I need help and saw this forum

I may be wrong. But should Dell and OC be in the same sentence? How can one attempt to modify a Dell or HP PC? Aren't they meant for everyday computing uses like apps and internet?
__________________
|ASUS M5A97 R2.0| AMD FX 6300 3.5 GHZ|16GB (4x4) 1600MHZ DDR3 RAM|ASUS Radeon HD 7770 1GB| Kingston HyperX RAM|Kingston Hyper X 120 GB SSD|WD Green 1TB HDD|


|ASRock N68C-GS FX|AMD Athlon II X3 450 3.2 GHZ|G.Skill 8GB (2x4) 1600MHZ DRR3 RAM |Geforce 9800 GT 1GB DDR5|Seagate 500 GB HDD|



|Macbook Pro- Intel Core i5 2.4 GHZ|8GB DDR3 RAM|Samsung Evo 840 240GB SSD|


fallenapples is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2014, 08:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: US
Posts: 6
Default Re: Hi! I need help and saw this forum

The motherboard is not upgraded. The power supply is plenty strong, I assure you, it carries 680 watts (I see why you would ask though... no way the stock 9200 PSU would ever put up with it).
But I did discover an unfortunate fact... My overclocking does not, in fact, work with a Dell BIOS (confirming the statement of fallenapples). I thought it was working, but because of the annoying locked voltage, the computer simply killed itself whenever it was set at a higher clock speed and loaded with Prime95 for more than a few seconds.

I acquired this computer by smashing six old systems together and buying a few new parts, which kept it to about $350 total. If I can't overclock on that... Oh well.

But that being said...
Does anyone know of a fairly cheap case/mobo combo with LGA 775 and DDR2 slots? Because I wouldn't be too against a motherboard upgrade, it's the only thing left on my machine that's stock.

And on a side note, when i view my profile, it shows all my computer information. Do I have to obtain a post count before others can see it or something?
EDIT: Did you check the "About Me" tab?
tstehler1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2014, 09:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
fallenapples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 376
Default Re: Hi! I need help and saw this forum

ASUSTeK Computer P5QL Pro LGA 775 Socket T Intel Motherboard 0610839163731 | eBay
__________________
|ASUS M5A97 R2.0| AMD FX 6300 3.5 GHZ|16GB (4x4) 1600MHZ DDR3 RAM|ASUS Radeon HD 7770 1GB| Kingston HyperX RAM|Kingston Hyper X 120 GB SSD|WD Green 1TB HDD|


|ASRock N68C-GS FX|AMD Athlon II X3 450 3.2 GHZ|G.Skill 8GB (2x4) 1600MHZ DRR3 RAM |Geforce 9800 GT 1GB DDR5|Seagate 500 GB HDD|



|Macbook Pro- Intel Core i5 2.4 GHZ|8GB DDR3 RAM|Samsung Evo 840 240GB SSD|


fallenapples is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2014, 09:34 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Dauntae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,813
Default Re: Hi! I need help and saw this forum

I'll take a look but 775 MB are far and few between, The I (I3-I5-I7) series CPU is already on it's 4 generation so 775 has been out of production for some time other than a few oddities found on the web and most won't have much for overclocking ability.

Dauntae

Newegg has a few micro atx boards, Wasn't thinking about ebay LOL The P5Q series are pretty good, Been using mine for geee so many years now LOL I don't have the Pro but pretty much the same board. Looking to build a new system soon.
__________________
New system
NZXT Tempest 410 - I5-4670K - Asus Z87-Plus - SeaSonic SS-750KM3 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular PS
GPU MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G - CORSAIR Vengeance Pro 16GB 1600 (2x8gig) - SAMSUNG 840 EVO 250 -Seagate Barracuda 3-TB

Antec 200 - I7-920 - ASUS P6T - Corsair TX650 it's old but still kicking like a mule
2-EVGA GTX 470 in SLI- ocz vertex 3 SSD 128 gig
Seagate Barracuda 1-TB - OCZ DDR3-1600 12 gigs 3x2
Keeps Me Happy :lol:

If I've been helpful, Please rep me
Dauntae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2014, 09:49 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: US
Posts: 6
Default Re: Hi! I need help and saw this forum

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dauntae View Post
I'll take a look but 775 MB are far and few between, The I (I3-I5-I7) series CPU is already on it's 4 generation so 775 has been out of production for some time other than a few oddities found on the web and most won't have much for overclocking ability.

Dauntae

Newegg has a few micro atx boards, Wasn't thinking about ebay LOL The P5Q series are pretty good, Been using mine for geee so many years now LOL I don't have the Pro but pretty much the same board. Looking to build a new system soon.
Thanks, I appreciate your help. I know the I-series has already had quite a good run, so anything previous is going to be annoying to get my hands on, but still cheaper than a new case/mobo/CPU/RAM set. The P5QL Pro actually looks like the perfect board... Except for one tiny little thing. I use a Radeon HD 7770, which is a two-tier graphics card. If I'm not mistaken, that won't fit here, because the bottom tier of the card would be where the PCIe x16 slot is on this board.
If I am mistaken, by all means let me know. I could be entirely wrong.
tstehler1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2014, 10:13 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Dauntae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,813
Default Re: Hi! I need help and saw this forum

Yes you will lose one PCIe 1X slot, I have a GTX470 that does the same thing and my TV card in the other, Anything else I make sure I get a regular PCI slot card but have not had to use them yet LOL Only time I used one was when I added a phone modem when my DSL modem died and had to get online, But most people never have much to add to there boards and 1 PCI 1X should be enough.

Dauntae
__________________
New system
NZXT Tempest 410 - I5-4670K - Asus Z87-Plus - SeaSonic SS-750KM3 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular PS
GPU MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G - CORSAIR Vengeance Pro 16GB 1600 (2x8gig) - SAMSUNG 840 EVO 250 -Seagate Barracuda 3-TB

Antec 200 - I7-920 - ASUS P6T - Corsair TX650 it's old but still kicking like a mule
2-EVGA GTX 470 in SLI- ocz vertex 3 SSD 128 gig
Seagate Barracuda 1-TB - OCZ DDR3-1600 12 gigs 3x2
Keeps Me Happy :lol:

If I've been helpful, Please rep me
Dauntae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2014, 10:19 PM   #9 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,286
Default Re: Hi! I need help and saw this forum

If you can really get that board for 10 bucks then I honestly think you should grab this CPU for 45. The Q6600 is pretty long in the tooth and can be known to hold back performance even being a quad.

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 2 5 GHz Quad Core CPU 6MB 1333FSB 0675900947184 | eBay

If you want to OC and have the funds to get a good cooler then that 9300 at 3GHz would actually be a good setup up from your Q6600.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2014, 10:35 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: US
Posts: 6
Default Re: Hi! I need help and saw this forum

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dauntae View Post
Yes you will lose one PCIe 1X slot, I have a GTX470 that does the same thing and my TV card in the other...
Understood. I have the same thing in my current computer. Not a problem (I only use one other PCI card anyway and if I had to get rid of it, I wouldn't exactly be heartbroken). I'm pretty interested in placing a bid on this. The thing is, this board appears to be oriented exactly opposite my current board, causing all my cards to face the opposite way. Would you suggest I also pick up a whole new case for this? Or would it be easier to just leave the board freefloating in the 9200 case? (I think I can guess the answer to this one, but I just want to see if a floating board is doable)
__________________

tstehler1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SaW 3D (aka Saw 7) Harper Multimedia 9 10-22-2010 09:17 PM
I saw the Future and its AWESOME! (2019 a microsoft vision) grasswater Microsoft Windows and Software 17 03-09-2009 11:09 PM
online booking forum and enquire forum jay_bo Programming 4 07-25-2007 05:08 PM
Was going to build a new comp, then I saw this. Need some help! rjwilley System Upgrades 8 08-25-2006 04:58 AM
I saw this joke and had to post-- Shakie Off Topic Discussion 2 02-26-2003 07:46 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.