Help Upgrading CPU - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-09-2007, 04:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 20
Default Help Upgrading CPU

My motherboard supports a P4 Processor up to 2.6GHZ\400FSB. I currently have a P4 @ 1.6GHZ installed. I've been looking online all day long trying to find a compatible 2.6GHZ\400FSB processor, but I keep running into 533FSB\800FSB Processors! So, What I was wondering was, would it be possible to use a 533FSB or 800FSB processor for a board intended for a 400FSB processor @ 2.6 GHZ? ....Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Mike
__________________

MichaelKing is offline  
Old 02-09-2007, 04:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
M733mhz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 648
Send a message via AIM to M733mhz
Default

I don't think Intel manufactures those processors anymore. However you could check out the buy/sell/trade section of this forum and see if anyone has one for ya. I don't know you'd see a GREAT performance increase in switching out the processor, though it would be noticable.
__________________

__________________


M733mhz is offline  
Old 02-09-2007, 04:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
King X13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to King X13
Default

i think you are also looking for a socket 423 is what it sounds like from those specs. which are not made anymore. you also most likely have RDram which is also hard to come by.

your best bet is to upgrade.

so no the newer chips wont fit because you have a different socket.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
King X13 is offline  
Old 02-09-2007, 04:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by King X13
i think you are also looking for a socket 423 is what it sounds like from those specs. which are not made anymore. you also most likely have RDram which is also hard to come by.

your best bet is to upgrade.

so no the newer chips wont fit because you have a different socket.
Socket 478 also has those specs though... the only place I think he'd find one is on eBay, there ARE 2.6 400MHz FSB chips though, I've seen them... Get a Pentium 4 2.4"A" if you can, they're really good overclockers.
WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 02-09-2007, 04:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 20
Default

Thanks for your time but I think I'll just go ahead and upgrade my motherboard and CPU...*Sigh*
MichaelKing is offline  
Old 02-09-2007, 04:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 20
Default

I take back what I said before...What do you guys think about this?
http://www.pcupgrade.co.uk/productde...categoryid=102
MichaelKing is offline  
Old 02-09-2007, 04:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
King X13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to King X13
Default

thats why i said i think. back when intel came out with the 1.6 and 1.7 etc. chips they were first made on the 423 socket which the majority of people bought it on these boards when it came out and also about 90% of the dells at 1.6 that i have worked on were 423's with rdram. it was just a suggestion for him to make sure what socket he has. you suggested a chip but not a correct socket so what if he buys one and doesnt fit?
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
King X13 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.