Help me upgrade! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-01-2006, 01:08 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2
Talking Help me upgrade!

Hows it going.

I was given an HP a305w desktop computer for christmas like 4 or 5 years ago. There is no AGP slot, just the old school PCI slot. This means I really cant even upgrade the card to play the new games cuz the slot cant handle it. Im not very technical so I need your knowledge. Ha, alright, I would like to do the folowing:

1) I dont think there is a way, but if there is I want to run old school
PCI cards in SLI, even if I could I dont think it would work anyways.

2) Upgrade the motherboard, is my best bet because I cant afford a new computer, at all, not possible. Ill list the specs, but i think it will be real hard to find a working one with atleast an 8x agp slot. ( 8x is right?) I wanna be able to keep the processor, hard drive, ram, and whatever else i can salvage. Please list a motherboard or any other suggestion to get this puppy goin again. If nothing else is possible, I will invent something I guess ha....u can e-mail me at


Intel (R)
Celeron (R) CPU 2.7 GHZ ( it says 2.69 right under for whatever)
504 MB of RAM (I have two sticks of 256, it says 504 tho)
Hard Drive dont know..dont care i guess ha.
Radeon 9250 128 pci...which is garbage if i can upgrade i guess
ASUS CRW-4824AH drive

RAM speed is 2100-2700

make it work if u can, E-mail me if possible, cuz i dont really know how to use the forums


Scarfase09 is offline  
Old 12-01-2006, 01:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Nitestick's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473

you could get an AGP8x motherboard, PCI-E 16x is the newest standard but i don't think you could find a motherboard for your cpu with that. there actually was a PCI version of SLI (originally SLI belonged to 3DFX but nVIDIA bought them out) but that would not help you at all.

Visit my website -
"Guitar is cool. If you donít think the guitar is cool, then youíre stupid. And I will fight you! " - Brendon Small
I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages
You can contact me for Forum related issues via PM only.

Nitestick is offline  
Old 12-01-2006, 03:48 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 639

Might wann upgrade your CPU aswell because Celerons perform VERY poorly in games. Here is a suggestion.

CPU: AMD 64 3200+, 512Kb L2 Cache, S939, 2.0GHZ - $54

Mainboard: BIOSTAR NF4ST-A9, nForce 4, S939 - $49

GFX: 3D FUSION Geforce 7600GS, PCI-E - $88

Well you might be thinking 2.0Ghz, thats not enought. Well I have some news for you. AMD's CPU's can handle more clock cycles per second. And the AMD 64 3200+ is equal or even better than a INTEL Pei=ntium 4 3.2Ghz. That CPU will peform millions of times better than that old Celeron you have. Or if you insist on keeping that cr@ppy Celeron than consider this video card.

GFX: DIAMOND X1300PCI256SB Radeon X1300 256MB 128-bit GDDR2 PCI - $109

I would recommend the AMD setup but its totaly up to you. Please consider the AMD setup.
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 @ 3400Mhz
Asus P5B-E
Samsung 400 GB Sata II
Corsair XMS2 2GB DDR2 800 5-5-5-12
Zalman CNPS-9700 LED
Antec Nine Hundred
Hp W2207 22" Widescreen Monitor
Windows Vista Home Premium
Silverstone ST60F 600W PSU
Razer Copperhead Tempest Blue Gaming Mouse
gmanych is offline  
Old 12-01-2006, 01:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2

Thanks for the Help everybody
Scarfase09 is offline  
Old 12-01-2006, 04:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 55

You will not (usually) be able to put an aftermarket mobo inside a proprietary OEM case/psu without extensive hardware mods( i have done so, but it takes time and tools, knowledge which you may or may not possess). Even a higher speed proc, unless there is an HP bios for it, will not work. All you got left is ram...which only goes so far. Donate as a grandma email box and start from scratch. AEven outright sale of entire system will be hardpressd to get $50 imho...
krazefinn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:11 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.