Help me upgrade! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Old 12-01-2006, 01:08 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Talking Help me upgrade!

Hows it going.

I was given an HP a305w desktop computer for christmas like 4 or 5 years ago. There is no AGP slot, just the old school PCI slot. This means I really cant even upgrade the card to play the new games cuz the slot cant handle it. Im not very technical so I need your knowledge. Ha, alright, I would like to do the folowing:

1) I dont think there is a way, but if there is I want to run old school
PCI cards in SLI, even if I could I dont think it would work anyways.

2) Upgrade the motherboard, is my best bet because I cant afford a new computer, at all, not possible. Ill list the specs, but i think it will be real hard to find a working one with atleast an 8x agp slot. ( 8x is right?) I wanna be able to keep the processor, hard drive, ram, and whatever else i can salvage. Please list a motherboard or any other suggestion to get this puppy goin again. If nothing else is possible, I will invent something I guess ha....u can e-mail me at

Intel (R)
Celeron (R) CPU 2.7 GHZ ( it says 2.69 right under for whatever)
504 MB of RAM (I have two sticks of 256, it says 504 tho)
Hard Drive dont know..dont care i guess ha.
Radeon 9250 128 pci...which is garbage if i can upgrade i guess
ASUS CRW-4824AH drive

RAM speed is 2100-2700

make it work if u can, E-mail me if possible, cuz i dont really know how to use the forums

Old 12-01-2006, 01:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie

you could get an AGP8x motherboard, PCI-E 16x is the newest standard but i don't think you could find a motherboard for your cpu with that. there actually was a PCI version of SLI (originally SLI belonged to 3DFX but nVIDIA bought them out) but that would not help you at all.

Visit my website -