Help With CPU upgrade please - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-25-2007, 02:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 21
Default Help With CPU upgrade please

I currently have a 2.66 GHz Celeron D processor, I have a 775LGA Socket, 90nm technology.

I would like to know how powerful of a processor i can upgrade to.

Motherboard info
Manufacture: Intel Corporation
Model: D915GVSE3 AAD16711-104

Case and cooling
I have a 6 Bay Micro BTX (uBTX) mid-tower case
I have a 120mm variable speed fan in the front that has a shroud on it that fits over my processors heat sink, it draws cool air from outside the case in through the front.

It has a 95mm variable speed fan in the rear that vents the warm air in the case out.

It has a 305 watt dual voltage (110/220) power supply.

I am planning also on putting 4gb RAM in it.

I just don't know what is the largest processor i can upgrade to, if i will need better cooling, and if i will need a bigger power supply. Any suggestions?
__________________

CAC34 is offline  
Old 10-25-2007, 02:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Help With CPU upgrade please

Hey CAC34



I believe that motherboard chipset, only supports Pentium 4 and Celeron D. So you're very limited. And you wouldn't see a significant increase in performance, even if you upgrade. You should upgrade the motherboard, if you want to see a good improvement.

Why are you putting 4GB of RAM? Are you planning on heavy video/photo editing, or graphic design? If not, 4GB is highly unnecessary.

What is the main purpose of this computer?
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 10-25-2007, 02:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 21
Default Re: Help With CPU upgrade please

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
Hey CAC34



I believe that motherboard chipset, only supports Pentium 4 and Celeron D. So you're very limited. And you wouldn't see a significant increase in performance, even if you upgrade. You should upgrade the motherboard, if you want to see a good improvement.

Why are you putting 4GB of RAM? Are you planning on heavy video/photo editing, or graphic design? If not, 4GB is highly unnecessary.

What is the main purpose of this computer?
Thanks for the welcome, If that is the case maybe i will just keep my current processor and upgrade the RAM, I dont do video editing or gaming with this system. I simply surf the web, use microsoft works from time to time to do typing and real basic stuff, I watch videos on youtube and sites like that and I have netflix so i watch some of there movies online. Maybe i will just do a RAM upgrade I currently have 512 mb RAm how much do you recomend. I know my system will support up to 4 gb.
CAC34 is offline  
Old 10-25-2007, 02:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Help With CPU upgrade please

4GB is way overkill for internet surfing, or general use. The only reason to go 4GB, is the reason, I mentioned earlier, about the editing.

Just get another stick of 512MB, and you'll be running very smoothly. Would you happen to know the speed of your memory? I can suggest one that will fit right in with your current, if I know the speed. It should be DDR or DDR2 memory.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 10-25-2007, 02:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 21
Default Re: Help With CPU upgrade please

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
4GB is way overkill for internet surfing, or general use. The only reason to go 4GB, is the reason, I mentioned earlier, about the editing.

Just get another stick of 512MB, and you'll be running very smoothly. Would you happen to know the speed of your memory? I can suggest one that will fit right in with your current, if I know the speed. It should be DDR memory.
DDR 2 is the speed,Also my ram is Hynix and i had some people tell me thats not very good ram. Maybe a gig of another brand will do me? Will adding more ram cause my computer to run hotter? I wondered about the cooling but i do have pretty big variable speed fans in this Gateway.
CAC34 is offline  
Old 10-25-2007, 02:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Help With CPU upgrade please

Quote:
Originally Posted by CAC34 View Post
DDR 2 is the speed,Also my ram is Hynix and i had some people tell me thats not very good ram. Maybe a gig of another brand will do me?
DDR2 is the type. Not the speed. There should be a number proceeding it. And you can check, by using CPU-Z, and going to the memory tab. Post back a screenshot or post what the frequency is...

About the RAM being bad, if it's still working, there is no reason to let it go to waste. Although a 1GB stick is not expensive these days.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 10-25-2007, 02:58 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 21
Default Re: Help With CPU upgrade please

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
DDR2 is the type. Not the speed. There should be a number proceeding it. And you can check, by using CPU-Z, and going to the memory tab. Post back a screenshot or post what the frequency is...

About the RAM being bad, if it's still working, there is no reason to let it go to waste. Although a 1GB stick is not expensive these days.
Here is the RAM specs

Type DDR2
Size: 512 mb
Channels: Dual
Frequency: 200MHz
FSB: DRAM 2:3
CAS# Latency (tCL) 4.0 clocks
RAS# to CAS# Delay (tRCD) 4 Clocks

The ram I have is still working, I have just had a lot of people say that hynix is not a good brand name and has the tendancy to have hick ups so to speak. I don't know how true that really is though. I don't think i have had any problems related to ram with this system though.

I do want to make sure though that i have a good brand name to.
CAC34 is offline  
Old 10-25-2007, 03:08 PM   #8 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Help With CPU upgrade please

I would suggest this then:
Newegg.com - Kingston ValueRAM 1GB (2 x 512MB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 400 (PC2 3200) Dual Channel Kit System Memory - Retail
...if you wanted to take out the Hynix brand.

Or:
Newegg.com - Kingston ValueRAM 512MB 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 400 (PC2 3200) System Memory - Retail

But you save money, going with the 2 x 512 kit.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 10-25-2007, 03:12 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 21
Default Re: Help With CPU upgrade please

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post

Cool, thanks for your help, it is greatly appreciated.
CAC34 is offline  
Old 10-25-2007, 05:08 PM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Re: Help With CPU upgrade please

you can upgrade to this processor if your motherboard support 800MHZ FSB
Newegg.com - Intel Pentium 4 631 Cedar Mill 3.0GHz 2MB L2 Cache LGA 775 Processor - Retail
__________________

maroon1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help choosing for next upgrade, GPU or CPU? ki9090 New Systems | Building and Buying 7 10-17-2007 06:22 AM
cpu upgrade. (s939) lancec2c30 New Systems | Building and Buying 30 09-22-2007 02:24 PM
Medium computer upgrade. muman System Upgrades 6 09-14-2007 04:53 PM
upgrade on GPU, CPU, PSU kur0suto New Systems | Building and Buying 31 09-06-2007 03:57 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.