Help !!! Buying new computer to match new video card - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-25-2006, 07:41 PM   #11 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

are you being serious, or an *******?

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 08:03 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 17
Default

No, was serious,, basically im asking if it says that...if it comes with only 1 of these slots, can I replace it with my new video card..or am I looking for a computer with 2 of these slots.

Thanks
__________________

DONK2GLORY is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 08:20 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 350
Default

Uhh what?

You arent supposed to stick two defferent brands of video cards and two defferent manufactuerers into a computer.. Take the old one out...

Or are you trying to buy a new computer?!
__________________
Kitire is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 08:30 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

What it means by 1 total slots is that there is only one in it.
The available slots are the empty ones, with no card in it.
Vybuni is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 08:44 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 17
Default

Well the reason I was asking this is because, i thought there were some computers with integrated video cards ..that you couldnt replace the video card with. Yes I am buying a new computer but have to make sure it matches a new video card that I have recently bought.

Thanks for the replys, appreciate the help.
DONK2GLORY is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 09:30 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

You can't replace the integrated video card, but if you put an AGP or PCI-ex card you can disable the integrated video in the bios so you use the one you put in.
Vybuni is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 11:21 PM   #17 (permalink)
!!GAMER!!
 
fr34ky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southeast,AZ
Posts: 509
Default

You may want to google whatever you need to know.I suggest that you build a computer.Dont be intemidated by building your own computer.Its not hard just research for a week and youll fing out all you need to know.
TigerDirect complete computers are rippoffs in my opinion.Here is a little guide on how to build and what you need .
http://www.tigerdirect.com/static/ht...ldingtips.html
Also this forum will be here if you need any help.Also if you need a computer and need some thought on what to get just ask.
__________________
fr34ky is offline  
Old 01-26-2006, 12:31 AM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 17
Default

planning to get an intel
DONK2GLORY is offline  
Old 01-26-2006, 03:15 AM   #19 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 62
Default

intel<amd
i have never purchased intel parts for a build yet. though some one told me the northwoods were good cpu's, also how much do you have $$ wise to work with?
ill do some adventuring on neweg Tnight
__________________
system specs~
amd 165 opteron x2
evga 6600GT 256mb pci-e
2g corsair xms dual channel
asus a8n-e ultra atx
samsung 40g 7200rpm sata 3.0g/s
asus combo drive
antec true blue 480w psu
cheiftek ultra dragon full atx with (side window panel)
dRgreen is offline  
Old 01-26-2006, 12:27 PM   #20 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

I merged this thread and the other one.

DO NOT POST A THREAD MULTIPLE TIMES!!!
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.