HD recovery - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-30-2006, 09:51 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 23
Default HD recovery

I recently upgraded my PC with a new motherboard and graphics card. I was using a 40GB hard drive with windows installed and had a 10GB spare. When I rebooted with the new configuration, my computer no longer recognises the formatting on my 30GB HD. I was wondering if there is a way to recover the data, I don't want to lose it all.
__________________

addle_brains is offline  
Old 06-30-2006, 09:58 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

windows does not tolerate a motherboard change and as far as i can tell from your description that is the only problem. your hdd contents are fine but windows is unbootable. you could reinstall windows over it being careful to make sure you don't format it but rather just install to the existing windows directory. you will have to reinstall your programs but your documents will be fine. alternatively you can look up how to do a windows repair which should rewrite the information that is preventing your windows booting to the new info relevant to the motherboard.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 06-30-2006, 10:10 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 23
Default

Ah, see I've installed windows on the smaller drive, but I just cannot get to the files in my larger one.
addle_brains is offline  
Old 06-30-2006, 12:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 23
Default

It just got worse. Maybe even unrelated. I turn on the comp.... nothing happens on the screen. I can hear the fans going and everything but nothing comes up. The light just blink the way it does when it gets no signal...ARGH!
addle_brains is offline  
Old 06-30-2006, 12:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

You don't need to reformat, Or Recover the Data, when you swap a main component such as the motherboard, Boot off of your Windows XP Disc, Tell it to install, it Will Detect a previous installation, it will then give you the option to Repair. Hit R to run a repair Install, You should then be able to boot after restart.

As for your other problem, Its possible that The New Motherboard is grounding out a the Case or another metal Object within the Case.

Therefore Try Posting without the Case, with everything connected place the motherboard on a Hard Non-Conductive Surface and turn it on. Post back with results.
Ste is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.