HD recovery - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-30-2006, 08:51 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 23
Default HD recovery

I recently upgraded my PC with a new motherboard and graphics card. I was using a 40GB hard drive with windows installed and had a 10GB spare. When I rebooted with the new configuration, my computer no longer recognises the formatting on my 30GB HD. I was wondering if there is a way to recover the data, I don't want to lose it all.

addle_brains is offline  
Old 06-30-2006, 08:58 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Nitestick's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473

windows does not tolerate a motherboard change and as far as i can tell from your description that is the only problem. your hdd contents are fine but windows is unbootable. you could reinstall windows over it being careful to make sure you don't format it but rather just install to the existing windows directory. you will have to reinstall your programs but your documents will be fine. alternatively you can look up how to do a windows repair which should rewrite the information that is preventing your windows booting to the new info relevant to the motherboard.

Visit my website - nitestick.net
"Guitar is cool. If you donít think the guitar is cool, then youíre stupid. And I will fight you! " - Brendon Small
I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages
You can contact me for Forum related issues via PM only.

Nitestick is offline  
Old 06-30-2006, 09:10 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 23

Ah, see I've installed windows on the smaller drive, but I just cannot get to the files in my larger one.
addle_brains is offline  
Old 06-30-2006, 11:12 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 23

It just got worse. Maybe even unrelated. I turn on the comp.... nothing happens on the screen. I can hear the fans going and everything but nothing comes up. The light just blink the way it does when it gets no signal...ARGH!
addle_brains is offline  
Old 06-30-2006, 11:20 AM   #5 (permalink)
Do not Stare at my Avatar
Ste's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,571
Send a message via MSN to Ste

You don't need to reformat, Or Recover the Data, when you swap a main component such as the motherboard, Boot off of your Windows XP Disc, Tell it to install, it Will Detect a previous installation, it will then give you the option to Repair. Hit R to run a repair Install, You should then be able to boot after restart.

As for your other problem, Its possible that The New Motherboard is grounding out a the Case or another metal Object within the Case.

Therefore Try Posting without the Case, with everything connected place the motherboard on a Hard Non-Conductive Surface and turn it on. Post back with results.
Ste is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:10 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.