GPU upgrade help?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-01-2011, 12:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1
Default GPU upgrade help??

hi everyone. This is my first post to these forums. I'm looking to upgrade my machine with a new GPU. I currently have a gtx460 that has worked fine but struggles to max out games at 1920x1080. Since I'm planning to buy another GPU, should I simply buy another gtx460 and run it in SLI? or should I just replace the 460 outright with something better? Thanks guys!
__________________

phressure is offline  
Old 09-01-2011, 12:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default Re: GPU upgrade help??

Sli = better value.
Single = Less problems, energy, heat.

If it was me, I would get a single powerful card.
__________________

brinks is offline  
Old 09-01-2011, 07:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: GPU upgrade help??

How big is your power supply and what make is it?

I would go with another GTX460 and SLI if your power supply can handle it.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
To upgrade parts or to upgrade a whole new rig? Bekay523 New Systems | Building and Buying 4 07-07-2010 01:27 PM
Windows 7 $30 upgrade, only a upgrade? Raven206 Microsoft Windows and Software 8 10-22-2009 07:56 PM
Want to upgrade to dx10 card...should I upgrade anything? ShifterControl New Systems | Building and Buying 1 10-21-2007 05:37 PM
upgrade proccessor or upgrade ram? j12 New Systems | Building and Buying 7 11-11-2006 07:16 PM
If i upgrade my processor i think i need to upgrade my power supply Too! MADWAD New Systems | Building and Buying 6 09-29-2005 01:38 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.