Good TV Tuner? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-09-2007, 06:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Blitersety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Finleyville, PA
Posts: 682
Send a message via AIM to Blitersety
Default Good TV Tuner?

I'm looking to buy a nice high-quality tv tuner for my pc but for a mid-range price... preferably 70.00 USD or lower. If you can recommend one for 30.00 that would be great though lol! I'm just asking if anyone here who has used one can recommend it to me if they liked it because I don't really trust newegg's customer reviews.

Secondly, will I need to plug in an aux audio in cable for the sound? For example one tv tuner on newegg had an "aux in" audio cable that needs to be plugged into your soundcard but I'm using onboard sound so I was wondering where on my P35-DS3R mobo I would plug that into.

Thanks in advance!
__________________

__________________
Technology articles, reviews, and more! http://www.suite101.com/profile.cfm/philipdavis
-Asus P5Q Deluxe
- Intel G0 Q6600
-EVGA GeForce 8800 GTX
-Corsair TX750
-Antec 900 case
-Seagate Barracuda 320 GB HDD - main
-WD 320GB HDD - secondary
-Seagate Barracuda 500 GB HDD - tertiary
-Crucial Ballistix Tracer 3GB DDR2
-Lite-On 20x DVD burner
-Wireless MX-Revolution mouse
-Logitech G11 keyboard
Blitersety is offline  
Old 12-09-2007, 09:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: Good TV Tuner?

The older tuner and video capture cards needed a patch to the line-in jack on sound cards since they lack their own onboard audio chip. That's no longer seen with the tv tuner card used here by AVerMedia.

Their A180 MCE Edition model's software will run on Vista as well as XP making that about the first card found for both versions. I never go by reviews seen at vendors anyways here. I simply look over specifications on items being considered as well as prices.

When seen for $89.99 at newegg I simply shop around for a better price and behold... $79.89 from another reliable vendor. Product Details
__________________

eyeCpc is offline  
Old 12-10-2007, 12:07 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Blitersety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Finleyville, PA
Posts: 682
Send a message via AIM to Blitersety
Default Re: Good TV Tuner?

That looks like a nice card but it says you need windows xp media center edition to use it... I unfortunately only have XP home edition. Thanks for clearing up the thing about the audio cable.
__________________
Technology articles, reviews, and more! http://www.suite101.com/profile.cfm/philipdavis
-Asus P5Q Deluxe
- Intel G0 Q6600
-EVGA GeForce 8800 GTX
-Corsair TX750
-Antec 900 case
-Seagate Barracuda 320 GB HDD - main
-WD 320GB HDD - secondary
-Seagate Barracuda 500 GB HDD - tertiary
-Crucial Ballistix Tracer 3GB DDR2
-Lite-On 20x DVD burner
-Wireless MX-Revolution mouse
-Logitech G11 keyboard
Blitersety is offline  
Old 12-10-2007, 12:21 AM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Good TV Tuner?

Newegg.com - Hauppauge WinTV-PVR-150 PCI Interface 1045 Tuner Card - Retail
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 12-10-2007, 01:00 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Blitersety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Finleyville, PA
Posts: 682
Send a message via AIM to Blitersety
Default Re: Good TV Tuner?

^ Thanks for the link, I may indeed end up getting that one, it looks great except for its input is analog-only so i'd have to buy a converter when 2009 rolls around.

I just thought of something. Will any of these tuners work with my dish network tv? they all say cable-ready but none of them cite any compatibility with the satellite tv we get here.
__________________
Technology articles, reviews, and more! http://www.suite101.com/profile.cfm/philipdavis
-Asus P5Q Deluxe
- Intel G0 Q6600
-EVGA GeForce 8800 GTX
-Corsair TX750
-Antec 900 case
-Seagate Barracuda 320 GB HDD - main
-WD 320GB HDD - secondary
-Seagate Barracuda 500 GB HDD - tertiary
-Crucial Ballistix Tracer 3GB DDR2
-Lite-On 20x DVD burner
-Wireless MX-Revolution mouse
-Logitech G11 keyboard
Blitersety is offline  
Old 12-10-2007, 01:02 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: Good TV Tuner?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blitersety View Post
That looks like a nice card but it says you need windows xp media center edition to use it... I unfortunately only have XP home edition. Thanks for clearing up the thing about the audio cable.
The last build here saw the 1500 MCE Pro run everything well on both the Home and Pro editions while refusing to run on Vista. This is why I was ready to jump on the model having the right Vista ready type software.

On the new build I no longer have Pro but the Home version on one drive with Vista as a stand alone on the ide until I eventually add a new larger sata in. The actual application seen on XP Pro upgraded to MCE which is what MCE is with the media center added into it is that the card will be seen in the media center there. Some cards won't be seen in the media when trying them out.
eyeCpc is offline  
Old 12-10-2007, 01:07 AM   #7 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Good TV Tuner?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blitersety View Post
^ Thanks for the link, I may indeed end up getting that one, it looks great except for its input is analog-only so i'd have to buy a converter when 2009 rolls around.

I just thought of something. Will any of these tuners work with my dish network tv? they all say cable-ready but none of them cite any compatibility with the satellite tv we get here.
Your satellite TV comes from a dish to a box to the tv, just set it from dish to box to card with the video cable.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 12-10-2007, 03:13 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Blitersety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Finleyville, PA
Posts: 682
Send a message via AIM to Blitersety
Default Re: Good TV Tuner?

Quote:
Originally posted by peterhuang913
Your satellite TV comes from a dish to a box to the tv, just set it from dish to box to card with the video cable.
Quote:
Originally posted by eyeCPC

The last build here saw the 1500 MCE Pro run everything well on both the Home and Pro editions while refusing to run on Vista. This is why I was ready to jump on the model having the right Vista ready type software.

On the new build I no longer have Pro but the Home version on one drive with Vista as a stand alone on the ide until I eventually add a new larger sata in. The actual application seen on XP Pro upgraded to MCE which is what MCE is with the media center added into it is that the card will be seen in the media center there. Some cards won't be seen in the media when trying them out.
Oh okay thanks for clearing those things up
__________________
Technology articles, reviews, and more! http://www.suite101.com/profile.cfm/philipdavis
-Asus P5Q Deluxe
- Intel G0 Q6600
-EVGA GeForce 8800 GTX
-Corsair TX750
-Antec 900 case
-Seagate Barracuda 320 GB HDD - main
-WD 320GB HDD - secondary
-Seagate Barracuda 500 GB HDD - tertiary
-Crucial Ballistix Tracer 3GB DDR2
-Lite-On 20x DVD burner
-Wireless MX-Revolution mouse
-Logitech G11 keyboard
Blitersety is offline  
Old 12-10-2007, 07:45 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: Good TV Tuner?

AVerMedia surprisingly does have great cards while many go for the Hauppauge brand. The old 98-ME, 2000/XP video capture cards lasted while needing a patch into the sound card for audio.

If you do end up with a Creative X-Fi series sound card instead of onboard sound the sound card will pick up and tend to amplify the audio chip on any pci type tuner card installed. The Smart Volume Management switched off if enabled will eliminate the buzzing complaint sometimes made on that line of sound cards.
__________________

eyeCpc is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A good fan controller? MildTweeker Overclocking and Modding 11 09-04-2007 06:27 AM
cheap tv tuner bmxfreakrider New Systems | Building and Buying 5 08-02-2007 01:15 PM
Good UK online website that sells / specializes in mp3s? Willeh Off Topic Discussion 5 07-27-2007 08:02 PM
Dell c521, The case is too small to let me install a TV TUNER uniq1 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 05-01-2007 10:49 PM
Is GoDaddy really any good veg1992 Web Graphics and Design 7 04-16-2007 11:34 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.