Floppy Drives - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-02-2006, 06:44 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 95
Default Floppy Drives

This is probably a stupid question, but are floppy drives really needed? Will a PC boot and run properly without one? I haven't used mine since god knows when. I'm building a new PC soon and if I don't need one, I won't put one in. I'm assuming we don't need one, and we just tell the pc not to look for one in the boot sequence in bios?

Cheers
Cub
__________________

__________________
Asus A8N SLI Deluxe // AMD64 X2 4400+ Toledo // Antec True Power 2.0 550w // Tt Tsunami Case (Silver) // 2GB Nanya DDR400 // Leadtek Geforce 7900GTX 512mb // X2 WD 320GB SATA HDD // Pioneer DVR111D // Genuine Windows Vista Home Premium //
cub1971 is offline  
Old 04-02-2006, 07:08 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

not needed at all. just make sure halt on floppy error isnt enabled and its not in the boot sequence
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-02-2006, 07:42 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

If you have a VIA chipset you may need a floppy drive to install sata drivers. It is also needed for flashing the BIOS if you don't have software to do it in windows/prefere to do it in DOS.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 04-02-2006, 07:53 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 95
Default

Hmm, I will be using an Asus A8N SLI Deluxe, I dont think that has VIA chipset, but nforce4?

Thanks guys, I hate floppys, and cant find a silver one to match my case anyway lol.
__________________
Asus A8N SLI Deluxe // AMD64 X2 4400+ Toledo // Antec True Power 2.0 550w // Tt Tsunami Case (Silver) // 2GB Nanya DDR400 // Leadtek Geforce 7900GTX 512mb // X2 WD 320GB SATA HDD // Pioneer DVR111D // Genuine Windows Vista Home Premium //
cub1971 is offline  
Old 04-02-2006, 08:04 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

I have the standard SLI and haven't put a floppy in yet, it has a utility to flash the BIO in windows.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 04-02-2006, 10:11 AM   #6 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

As everyone else has said, there's really no need for one, but I always keep a spare around because there are always those people who only accept stuff on a floppy...

(It's also helpful if you have another computer with ONLY a floppy drive, like me, so that you can easily transfer data from computer to computer...)
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 04-02-2006, 12:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 430
Default

You can always make a DOS bootable usb drive for flashing your system or video card BIOS.
curtcheese64 is offline  
Old 04-02-2006, 02:17 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default

it doesnt hurt to have one, just in case, you never know when u might need one. plus theyre cheap as **** right now total $11 shipped at newegg
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 04-02-2006, 06:36 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 95
Default

If I can find a silver floppy drive that goes with my case (black or beige would look ****y, then i'll get one. I guess I could always spray paint the floppy face metalic silver? LOL I don't buy online, but there's hundreds of computer stores in my city. I'll look around.
__________________

__________________
Asus A8N SLI Deluxe // AMD64 X2 4400+ Toledo // Antec True Power 2.0 550w // Tt Tsunami Case (Silver) // 2GB Nanya DDR400 // Leadtek Geforce 7900GTX 512mb // X2 WD 320GB SATA HDD // Pioneer DVR111D // Genuine Windows Vista Home Premium //
cub1971 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.