fitting new graphics card ?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-14-2006, 02:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 33
Default fitting new graphics card ??

I am fitting a new agp graphics card to my friends pc.
After fitting it I tried everything I could think of to get it working but the pc did not pick the card up.
The motherboard has onboard graphics, so I went to the bios and changed the relevent inputs to agp, plugged the monitor into the card but it still would not pick it up. I have been told there are no jumpers to change on the board. I am not a great 'techy' so please be easy on me! This is the only info I have on the motherboard:-

MOTHERBOARD NAME: MATSONIC MS8157E

MOTHERBOARD PHYSICAL INFO:
CPU SOCKETS: 1
EXPANSION SLOTS: 5 PCI, 1 AGP, 1 CNR
RAM SLOTS: 4 DIMM
INTEGRATED DEVICES: AUDIO, VIDEO, LAN
FORM FACTOR: ATX
SIZE: 220MM X 300MM
CHIPSET: KM266

I am at a loss as to what to do, or if I am missing something, I have been to the Matsonic site and cant find a manual for the board, I would not understand it too well anyway!
Any help would be greatly appreciated.
THANX
__________________

artyman is offline  
Old 04-14-2006, 02:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 72
Default

Usually a new graphics card should come with the drivers for it on a CD. Or if u lost it u can always download them from the maufacturers site.
__________________

owenma435 is offline  
Old 04-14-2006, 05:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default

does the card require power from the psu? if so makes sure that its plugged in and the psu is powerful enough. the vid card's box will have under system rec's the minimum psu wattage.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 05-19-2006, 05:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 33
Default

It has a amd 1.5 proccessor and the card is a nvidia ti200, I dont think there is a problem there.
As for the drivers, I have them, however I dont think I need to install the drivers for the pc to pick the card up, and I know the card is ok as it has just come out of my pc.
artyman is offline  
Old 05-20-2006, 12:19 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16
Default

When i was putin my ned Vid card in it dident pick it up so i did install the drivers 1st up n then it worked fine 4 me.
Lateralus is offline  
Old 05-20-2006, 02:46 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 905
Default

Install the drivers. You need em.
cyrax is offline  
Old 05-27-2006, 03:37 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 33
Default

installed drivers, its still the same???
artyman is offline  
Old 06-02-2006, 08:36 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 33
Default

any update? i'm lost.......
artyman is offline  
Old 06-02-2006, 12:44 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 58
Send a message via Yahoo to Edward
Default

You do NOT need the drivers for the video card to be picked up. Did you check the power supply like zmatt asked? If that fails you need to contact the motherboard manufacturer.
__________________

__________________
(\\__/) This is Bunny. Put him in your
(=\'.\'=) signature and help him on his way
(\")_(\") to world domination
Edward is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.