First time upgrader - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-15-2012, 11:31 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 4
Default First time upgrader

Ok I'm not very tech savvy but here goes. I want to upgrade my system for gaming, here is what I have now:

Gateway dx4840-11c

i3 550 3.2 ghz

hd radeon 5450 Graphics card

4 gb ddr3 1333

300w power supply

And was thinking of going with:

i5 2500k

hd radeon 6670 Graphics

8gb ddr3 1333

h61m-hvs motherboard (is this good enough??)

Basically wondering if this looks like a good upgrade, and if my system can handle it all. Thanks in advance!!
__________________

NooB999 is offline  
Old 01-15-2012, 12:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: First time upgrader

You'll need a new power supply to start with, I would look at a Corsair, Antec, OCZ and get one around 600w.

Get a P67 or Z68 motherboard.

Get 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1600
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 01-15-2012, 12:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord of Bacon
 
Roark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,352
Default Re: First time upgrader

When you upgrade the motherboard you will need to buy a new Windows license as well (~$100).

How much were you looking to spend? Assuming you are going to reuse the hard drive and cd/dvd drive?
__________________
Please read through the thread thoroughly before responding.
Nobody wants to read a wall of text, formatting is your friend.

i5 3570k | 8GB G.Skill 1600MHz | R9 290 | SeaSonic 750X
Roark is offline  
Old 01-15-2012, 12:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 4
Default Re: First time upgrader

Thanks all, was hoping to keep this project around $500, looks like that won't be possible needing a new power supply, better motherboard etc... might do it anyway though
NooB999 is offline  
Old 01-15-2012, 01:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 12
Default

Just buy a 550 600 watt psu and a hd 6870 & then call it a day. If u have to upgrade your mobo and cpu you might as well build a new computer. Then its not really an upgrade. The i3 is fine for now.
__________________

NCHardwareReviews is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone Update: Marvel Comics, Easy Time Lapse Video, Real Time Translation And more Osiris Phones, Tablets, and other Handheld Devices 0 10-30-2009 06:19 PM
Hi everyone...1st time poster, long time fan...I have an issue DannyBoston Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 10-18-2008 08:35 PM
Hey all. Long time no post haha. New Rig time! Need input. TheOtis New Systems | Building and Buying 27 03-18-2008 04:06 PM
Future Intel User Or Upgrader Bulletin Megadeth2 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 12-29-2004 02:44 PM
Show the time in the users time zone? Nasimov Programming 1 12-24-2003 11:59 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.