First gaming build 2 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-26-2008, 02:59 PM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: First gaming build 2

I'll confirm that.. its true.. its a really great budget PSU
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 12-26-2008, 11:39 PM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Honaker VA
Posts: 43
Default

Alright well thats all i need ill probly be ordering this in the next week and ill update accordingly.
Thx again for the great help!!!

Alright guys ive got everything in and almost put together but ive hit a little problem...
The board has a 24 pin power connecter plus an additional 4 pin 12v wich the power supply has but it wont reach from the power supply to the connector so just wondering if i absolutely need it or not. Another problem is the adapter the 4850 came with isnt long enough to reach the boards connector, but the power supply has a 6 pin connector labeled PC-E so i think that may work but could u guys clarify that?
Also in my workplace i dont have acess to a monitor so is it okay to power it up without a moniter, keyboard exc?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tastegw View Post
what video card is 800 bucks more?
and what video card are you lookin @ with ddr2?
this is the video card i need to run maya off ofNewegg.com - PNY VCQFX1700-PCIE-PB Quadro FX1700 512MB 128-bit GDDR2 PCI Express x16 Workstation Video Card - Workstation Graphics / Video Cards


this is the one that is 800 thats the next highestNewegg.com - PNY VCQFX3500-PCIE-PB Quadro FX3500 256MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 SLI Supported Workstation Video Card - Workstation Graphics / Video Cards

Quote:
Originally Posted by AP4LIFETN View Post
no you can get an i7, your quadro has GDDR2 memory, that is specific to the GPU only and has nothing to do with the system memory....for i7, you will need DDR3 system memory regardless of your graphics card.
sorry i diddnt understand what you were saying

Well i got the power cable to reach the connector but i still dont know about the power for the 4850...
As i said befor i dont have an os yet but is it alright to turn it on to see if everything is spinning and lighting up?
__________________

Wonderbox is offline  
Old 01-07-2009, 08:42 AM   #13 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: First gaming build 2

Have you put the spacers under the motherboard?
__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 01-07-2009, 10:39 AM   #14 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: First gaming build 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wonderbox View Post
Another problem is the adapter the 4850 came with isnt long enough to reach the boards connector, but the power supply has a 6 pin connector labeled PC-E so i think that may work but could u guys clarify that?
the 6 pin labeled PCi-E is made for your graphic cards, in your case, the HD4850

use it

computer should spin up even without OS
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 01-07-2009, 04:28 PM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Honaker VA
Posts: 43
Default Re: First gaming build 2

Yes i do have the spacers in place.
I powered it up and everything was spinning exept the gpu fan with the power supply connector so i used the adapter the card came with connected to the power supply and now it works.
So now the only things wrong are sumtimes i have to press the power button several times befor it will power up and when it is powered on the motherboard beeps and just keeps beeping continuosly so i dont know if that means theres sumthing wrong or not.

Also for sum reason my last post has quotes apparently related to another thread wich i did not post. Just wanted to point that out.

Thx
Wonderbox is offline  
Old 01-23-2009, 09:23 PM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Honaker VA
Posts: 43
Default Re: First gaming build 2

Alright Ive got it up and running after i had to rma the first hard drive and so far so good.
Im really glad i went ahead and build my own, my friend was gonna build one with his christmas money but went and got a $800 walmart one instead and mine absolutely blows it away and for $200 less.
I got a 19" Samsung LCD Monitor for my b-day and its the clearest picture ive seen atleast.
And I bought vista home premium 64bit just to finish it off.
Couldent have done it without you guys.
__________________

Wonderbox is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1st time build - Gaming Rig luigi336 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 10-08-2008 07:06 PM
Please help a noob build a gaming PC Uniqueuponhim New Systems | Building and Buying 13 09-21-2008 10:04 AM
Need a $1200 Gaming Build! Poemaster New Systems | Building and Buying 23 06-18-2008 04:48 PM
Need Help Deciding On Last Mintue Gaming Build Battlefront115 New Systems | Building and Buying 4 02-04-2008 07:37 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.