First build help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-29-2010, 09:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
Intelligent Metalhead
 
redfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: North Shore Massachusetts
Posts: 345
Question First build help

Hi everybody, I'm new to the forum and building my first PC. I have a refined selection of parts, half of which already purchased, and many questions regarding the build. Stats so far:
AMD Phenom II x6 1055T 2.8GHz CPU
ASUS M4A88TD-V EVO/USB3 AM3 AMD 880G SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 HDMI ATX AMD Motherboard
Cooler Master Elite 310 Case w/ side panel window (skimped on this)
Cooler Master Elite 460W PSU (skimped on this)
All the parts bought from NewEgg, had to skimp on a lot of stuff (like graphics and PSU) so I could afford the build on my limited budget. Still need HDD (prob WD Caviar Blue 250 GB 16MB Cache), RAM (looking for 4 gigs ddr3 1600 MHz on QVL), and ODD.
first question: How tight is too tight when it comes to mobo screws? I already installed the mobo and CPU, my biggest fear is that i accidentally screwed everything up during a careless moment. They are tightened as much as I can without applying too much force, or should they be completely loose?
Second question: to ground myself, I had made two rings out of heavy-gauge copper wire soldered to wires which were then alligator clipped to the baseboard heat. They were worn on my thumbs. Is this adequate?
Third Question: I've been really frustrated looking for RAM, as my mobo has a very picky QVL. There are some memory DIMMs made by the same manufacturer with the same CAS latency, timing, voltage, and speed but different model numbers than some on the QVL. What is the rule of thumb when it comes to RAM and the QVL? Can I only use those models with the exact model numbers on the list? What if it's the same DIMM model number but a different kit number because it comes with multiple DIMMs?
Fourth Question: Can I put foam spacers between the PSU and the case metal to reduce vibration noise or will this interfere with the functioning of the PSU?
Fifth Question: Any tips?
__________________

redfish is offline  
Old 07-29-2010, 10:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: First build help

Welcome...

If you used the brass mobo standoffs, and youve tightenbed as you mentioned, you'll be fine.

I built my stuff without any antistatic bands... just touch ground every so often.

You can foam the psu, but honestly, i've never had vibration noise.

Don't know about RAM.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 07-29-2010, 10:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Intelligent Metalhead
 
redfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: North Shore Massachusetts
Posts: 345
Default Re: First build help

Thanks. the RAM has just made me really frustrated as I am on a really limited budget, just want to get it up and running by two weeks from now and will get better components as time goes by. My worst fear was that I damaged the CPU or mobo and it was useless. Speaking of which... I just remembered another question: When I installed the stock CPU cooler, it required a TON of force on the tab to get it to lock. My friend built a i7 PC and his CPU cooler was hard to get on, but this was ridiculous. The thing rotated a bit under the force. I heard metal "twangs" and instantly stopped and uninstalled the CPU to check for damage, none whatsoever. So I assume it was the heatsink...? Is this normal?
redfish is offline  
Old 07-30-2010, 01:25 AM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default Re: First build help

Newegg.com - G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model F3-10666CL8D-4GBHK
$94

Newegg.com - G.SKILL ECO Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) Desktop Memory Model F3-10666CL8D-4GBECO
$96

Dunno about the "twangs". I never had an AMD HSF be that hard to put on force-wise, but they were all s939 and not AM3.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Old 07-30-2010, 07:25 AM   #5 (permalink)
Intelligent Metalhead
 
redfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: North Shore Massachusetts
Posts: 345
Default Re: First build help

Thanks for the links, Trotter. Another question- will the bios recognize USB devices? e.g. can I nix the internal ODD and plug one in to the USB socket to install Windows?
redfish is offline  
Old 07-30-2010, 09:16 AM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default Re: First build help

Externals won't work for an OS drive. Even if you could get it to work it would be extremely slow.

Odds are you will need to use an old keyboard (PS/2) to be able to access your BIOS for the first time. All the mobos I have dealt with do not have USB activated to be recognized during boot.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Old 07-30-2010, 09:45 AM   #7 (permalink)
Intelligent Metalhead
 
redfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: North Shore Massachusetts
Posts: 345
Default Re: First build help

thanks. I was wondering because I am on a very limited budget and might not be able to afford the DVD burner. I guess i'll have to try really hard to find some ways to save a couple bucks. This computer will be the only up-to-date computer in the house- we've been running off of two 7-year-old desktops since, well, 7 years ago.
redfish is offline  
Old 07-30-2010, 11:17 AM   #8 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default Re: First build help

If you have a fairly new flash/thumb dive, you can use it to install your OS. Set it up on one of the other computers and then install it on the new one.

Install Windows 7 From USB Drive/Pen Drive
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Old 07-30-2010, 11:48 AM   #9 (permalink)
Intelligent Metalhead
 
redfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: North Shore Massachusetts
Posts: 345
Default

I'm really irked now. My father said he had a copy of windows 7 64-bit he had bought from his work that I could use. I now went to look for it and found that it was in fact an upgrade version. We have Windows XP on our current desktops that I could use, but it's a 32-bit version. I do have Windows 7 64-bit on his laptop, however, can I load that onto a flash drive and install it onto my desktop? Is that illegal? I wouldn't think so, since we own the operating system and should be able to install it into any computer we want. If it is legal, is there an installation program that I need to be able to install it or would I just copy it into the hard drive? If I cannot do that, does anyone have any experience with the ASUS Hybrid OS? Can I set up and use the internet on the hybrid OS without installing an operating system? (P.S. sorry about all these questions, and thanks alot for helping)

Unless... Can I install the upgrade on a clean hard drive if I have a product key for win7? In other words, is the upgrade version the same as the normal version without a key?

edit: I think that that's it. To save money, the university probably marketed an upgrade CD bundled with a product license/key/sn as a complete OS kit for a low price towards its employees to save money. So would that work? If i have an upgrade disk with the license sticker from a full version?
redfish is offline  
Old 07-30-2010, 02:41 PM   #10 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default Re: First build help

You've got PM.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Great Beginner Build Guide Spit-wad New Systems | Building and Buying 5 04-29-2009 10:17 PM
Need advice on 1st time budget build Dudeman System Upgrades 6 04-12-2009 06:29 PM
Windows 7 Build 7000 Beta Review KSoD Official TF Reviews 11 02-15-2009 01:33 PM
First PC build, any help appreciated. relapserebel System Upgrades 16 01-29-2009 01:02 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.