Enough Power? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-22-2007, 05:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 184
Send a message via AIM to blackhawk13
Default Enough Power?

Well, long time no see, everyone! And it's time (again) to look into building my computer. Now that I have a full-time summer job, I CAN afford it, and will be choosing the Athlon root (I prefer them over Intel, don't know why). Anyways, I'll give you the build. I'm not really asking if this build will work or not (I'm pretty sure it will), but any input is appreciated! My main question is: Will this PSU actually have enough power to keep the machine going. .

Case: Canada Computers - Cases > Mid Towers : Thermaltake VB6000BWS Swing Middle Tower with Window (Black).
Mobo: Canada Computers - Motherboards > Socket AM2 : Asus M2N-SLI Deluxe Socket AM2 nVidia nForce 570 SLI Chipset Chipset 2 x PCI Express x16 Slot Full x16 Speed SLI Ready Dual-Ch DDR2/800/667/533 Serial ATA 3.0Gb/s Dual GB Lan 8-Ch High Definition Audio S
CPU: Canada Computers - CPU > Desktop AMD Processors : AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ (125W) Dual-Core Socket AM2, 3.0GHz, 1MB x2 L2 Cache, 2000MHz HT, 90nm (ADX6000CZBOX).
Video Card: Canada Computers - Video Cards > PCI-Express Cards > Powered By nVidia : Asus EN8600GT SILENT/HTDP/256M nVidia 8600GT Chipset (540Mhz) 256MB (1.4Ghz) DDR3 Dual DVI PCI-Express Graphics Card.
RAM: Canada Computers - Memory > DDR2 PC2-6400 800MHz + : OCZ (OCZ2VU8002GK) DDR2 PC2-6400 800MHz Vista Upgrade Edition 2GB (2x1024MB) Dual Channel Kit.
HDD: Canada Computers - Hard Drives > S-ATA Drives : Seagate Barracuda (ST3250620AS) 7200.10 250GB SATA NCQ 3.0Gb/s 16MB Cache (OEM).
PSU: Canada Computers - Power Supplies/Equipments > Desktop PSUs : Thermaltake 430W Power Supply (W0070RUC) PCI-Express, SATA, Dual 8cm Fans.
DVD Drive: Canada Computers - CD/DVD/RW Drives > Internal DVD Drives : Pioneer DVR-112DBK 18X DVD-Writer, Black, OEM.

Anyways, in short, it's an Athlon 6000+, with an 8600GT, powered by a 430W Thermaltake. Thanks!!
__________________

blackhawk13 is offline  
Old 07-22-2007, 05:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 36
Default Re: Enough Power?

Wow that looks pretty sweet. Good choice. That costs a pretty penny.

EDIT: Actually now that i look at all the prices it doesn't cost that bad.
__________________

master353 is offline  
Old 07-22-2007, 05:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 184
Send a message via AIM to blackhawk13
Default Re: Enough Power?

Quote:
Originally Posted by master353 View Post
Wow that looks pretty sweet. Good choice. That costs a pretty penny.

EDIT: Actually now that i look at all the prices it doesn't cost that bad.
Just over $900 after taxes. Not too bad if you ask me. .
blackhawk13 is offline  
Old 07-22-2007, 05:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Enough Power?

Instead of the Thermaltake PSU, you can get a Xclio or Antec PSU which has a better percentage of efficiency.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 07-30-2007, 07:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 184
Send a message via AIM to blackhawk13
Default Re: Enough Power?

Alrighty. I switched it up for a 500 Watt Antec SmartPower PSU. Should be enough power for it. . Thanks for your help!
blackhawk13 is offline  
Old 07-31-2007, 03:00 AM   #6 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Enough Power?

the 8600gt is a waste get either the ati x1950 or the 8800gts (320mb)

the cpu is a waste get the 5200x2 and overclock it or get a much cheaper mobo and cpu and wait 3 months with a semi decent amd system to then upgrade to a am2+ mobo and an AM2+ cpu

Intel would be a better performance alternative if you are not going down the am2+ route then amd is sadly lacking
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 07:52 PM   #7 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 184
Send a message via AIM to blackhawk13
Default Re: Enough Power?

Quote:
Originally Posted by saltynay View Post
the 8600gt is a waste get either the ati x1950 or the 8800gts (320mb)

the cpu is a waste get the 5200x2 and overclock it or get a much cheaper mobo and cpu and wait 3 months with a semi decent amd system to then upgrade to a am2+ mobo and an AM2+ cpu

Intel would be a better performance alternative if you are not going down the am2+ route then amd is sadly lacking
Switched to the e6750 and the P5B Plus. But I'm keeping the 8600GT. I'm not a serious gamer, just need enough juice to keep it goin'.
blackhawk13 is offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 08:48 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default Re: Enough Power?

I would go with a Corsair 450w VX instead. It is much better and only $8 more.

Newegg.com - CORSAIR CMPSU-450VX ATX12V V2.2 450W Power Supply 90 - 264 V UL, CUL, CE, CB, FCC Class B, TUV, CCC, C-tick - Retail
turtile is offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 10:43 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default Re: Enough Power?

Yes eith er get the 450VX or an Antec 500W.

@phucng_10: If i were you i would consider fixing your sig- its rather large.
__________________
MSI P35 Plat // 4GB DDR2 1033 // HD 4870 // Conroe C2D e6300 @ 2.5Ghz
Vaanish is offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 04:44 PM   #10 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 184
Send a message via AIM to blackhawk13
Default Re: Enough Power?

Switched to the Corsair 450VX. . Should be a good enough system now.

edit: 100th post. Woot!
__________________

blackhawk13 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old Power supply Guide (2008) Ste New Systems | Building and Buying 223 12-12-2009 09:05 PM
Power Supply Brinson Overclocking and Modding 4 06-13-2007 09:12 AM
Antec Sonata II Power Problem: BSoderstrom Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 06-12-2007 05:27 PM
AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM
Can I use ATX Power supply without -5 volt out jar99 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 05-12-2007 02:28 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.