Dusting out Pc's... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-20-2008, 08:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Dusting out Pc's...

My friend has a decent rig and he didnt even know it, but he wanted me to come over and dust it out for him.. he had one of those compressed air cans but he didnt have the straw looking thing... I gave it a test spray at my hand and it seemed fine but i still didnt trust it... i tried holding it down a few more seconds and i noticed a little bit of moisture coming out of it...

I got scared and said to him "your comp isnt going to die from a little dust, lets wait till you get a new can of compressed air first."....

Now i plan to go back over but my almost spraying liquid into his cpu fan, video card, and mobo scared me quite a bit. If i buy a new one is there anything i should look out for when spraying it down? and would the best thing be to take every part out and spray it and then put them back in?

That way i wouldnt have to tip the can horizontally cause i heard that would of sprayed a little bit of liquid....


also... **** those things get cold when you spray them -_- lol
__________________

__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 01-20-2008, 09:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Dusting out Pc's...

Those cans do give off a little moisture but I goes away. Also, try shaking the can.

As for the change in temperature, its simple gas law: Gas laws - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 01-20-2008, 09:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Null
Posts: 300
Default Re: Dusting out Pc's...

At work we use an air compressing machine (like the ones you use to blow up basketballs). It works like a charm. Blows out an incredible amount of dust. With an air compressor you can leave everything in the machine and with like 45 seconds of blowing everything is squeaky clean (funny how we charge like $30 bucks for it, ha, ignorance is what's driving the computer repair industry). Those little cans are more for dusting out keyboards than any thing else.
__________________

Rig:
LONG VERSION:
eMachines T5062
Single-core AMD Athlon 64 3800+ (UC'd to 1.06 GHZ)
256MB 667MHz DDR2 - Nvidia GeForce 6150SE (integrated)
20GB 4800rpm IDE - Eight channel (7.1) Audio
Windows ME... and Playing Crysis at 1 fps

SHORT VERSION:
Hard-Core
mcovalt is offline  
Old 01-20-2008, 10:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Phoenix219's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 89
Default Re: Dusting out Pc's...

I just used a leaf blower today. Worked perfectly
__________________
Q6600@3.6
EVGA 780i Motherboard
2gb OCZ Reaper 900mhz 4-4-4-12
EVGA 8800gts 512mb 800/1080
2x Western Digital 250gb SATAII Raid0
Antec 850w PSU
Antec 900 Case
3DMark06 - 15544
Phoenix219 is offline  
Old 01-20-2008, 10:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Dusting out Pc's...

I use a compressor tank.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 01-21-2008, 07:36 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
dude112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 236
Default Re: Dusting out Pc's...

I read here somewhere NOT to use a hairdryer. Almost fried his system? Maybe because it gets too hot or does it cause static electricity or something? Most hairdryers these days come with a cold air option. Does that work or doesn't it blow hard enough?
__________________
Finished:
Case: Fractal Design R4 \ PSU: Corsair TX-650 V2\ Mobo: Asrock Z75 Pro 3
Processor: Intel i5 3570K Stock
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 8GB 1600C9 (2x 4GB) \ Videocard: Gigabyte 7950 Windforce 3
SSD: Samsung 830 \ HDD: Samsung SpinPoint F1 500GB \ DVD-RW: 1x LG
Speakers: Logitech (2.1)\ Monitor: Dell Ultrasharp U2312HM
Keyboard: MS Comfort Curve\ Mouse: Logitech MX 518
dude112 is offline  
Old 01-21-2008, 07:52 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techalicious
 
Redmo0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,566
Send a message via MSN to Redmo0n
Default Re: Dusting out Pc's...

I use my vacuum cleaner with the head off]

Should use a compressor though
__________________
Back to stay?
Redmo0n is offline  
Old 01-21-2008, 08:26 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: Dusting out Pc's...

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
Those cans do give off a little moisture but I goes away. Also, try shaking the can.

As for the change in temperature, its simple gas law: Gas laws - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
so i shouldnt really worry about the moisture when spraying? or if i do see moisture just let it dry for a few mintues? i mean it doesnt come out in a waterfall its just a little morning dew on the old cpu/mobo ;p

Quote:
(funny how we charge like $30 bucks for it, ha, ignorance is what's driving the computer repair industry).
Yes, i needed to explain to a friend yesterday that you dont need a video card to surf the web... I think best buys was trying to sell them an 8600 gt, lol...
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 01-21-2008, 09:30 AM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North Sexyville
Posts: 294
Default Re: Dusting out Pc's...

A while back ago I used 2 cans of memorex air duster, with lemon scent , to dust the inside of my case and YES they do get cold, so cold you have to put them down after a while. At last when I had finished my computer parts, and everything else in the room, were dust free and lemony

If air compressors work I'll just use one of those sense we have 2 of them anyway, one is for basketballs and the other is like one for airing up tires and inner tubes.
Metal Chaos is offline  
Old 01-21-2008, 10:10 AM   #10 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default Re: Dusting out Pc's...

Make sure to power off the rig and unplug the power cord. Once you finish, let it sit for a couple fo minutes to be sure it is dry.

If you read the directions, it says not to spray close, anyway. That will prevent moisture, as will holding the can in the proper position.

Yeah, it's not uncommon to get frost on th eoutside of the can if you use it a lot in one cleaning.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
XP Batch script: Ping all PC's, if they all are offline: reboot router LincolnX Programming 2 12-19-2007 09:08 PM
Software for data synchronization between XP/Vista PC's? LincolnX Microsoft Windows and Software 4 12-15-2007 02:07 PM
Mac OSX cracked for PCs! meat_helmet New Systems | Building and Buying 3 11-02-2007 11:11 PM
UK PCs Have Least Malware Osiris Viruses, Spyware and Malware 6 10-03-2007 11:05 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.