From decent computer to performance computer! Upgrading help! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-21-2009, 10:50 PM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: From decent computer to performance computer! Upgrading help!

That's be a good idea.. It'd only take you a few $100 more and you could do it!

Also, if you need more funds you could always try selling off your old rig right before you buy the new stuff
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-22-2009, 02:30 AM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 18
Default Re: From decent computer to performance computer! Upgrading help!

Well I think I found enough sources to show that an AMD Phenom II processor indeed works on my motherboard.
I don't even care anymore if it isn't the 955. As long as it doesn't go below the 940, i'm happy >;]

AMD Phenom II X4: 45nm Benchmarked : The Phenom II And AMD's Dragon Platform - Review Tom's Hardware
Quote:
The improvements are manifest in a revised transistor count. Phenom II boasts roughly 758 million transistors, up from right around 450 million. As with its predecessor, the original Phenom, Phenom II drops into nearly every Socket AM2 motherboard. This gives the Phenom II broad appeal to the upgrade crowd, many of whom have long sought improved performance for their AMD systems.
AM2 Phenom support - XtremeSystems Forums

Phenom 2 on AM2 a good idea or not so?

What do you guys think?
__________________

Crocodyle is offline  
Old 07-22-2009, 05:10 AM   #13 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Washington. No, no, like the state.
Posts: 81
Default Re: From decent computer to performance computer! Upgrading help!

The 940 is very close to the performance of the 955 for about 80 less usd. Use the saved money on your videocard or something of the sort. If you get up your courage you can even overclock it those 200mhz ;P

The problem being referred to with these not working on your motherboard isn't the socket type. AM2, AM2+ and AM3 sockets are all compatible as far as fitting goes. The problem is your mobo probably doesn't support the power requirements for the newer phenoms. At least that is what I would guess.

If you get a new power supply many of us would recommend Corsair, and Antec psu are also nice. You can get a good Antec 300 case with an antec 500ish watt psu in a combo deal for about 100 usd at newegg, and it would serve your purposes with a single 4870.

let us know if you have any other questions or concerns. if you decide to build a new rig we are here for support =]
__________________
http://folding.extremeoverclocking.c...hilly/t=12864/
Join Folding@Home Team Tech-Forums Today!
Code:
...:::Phenom II 940 @ 3.8||GIGABYTE GA-MA790X-UD4P||Domino ALC||8gb G.Skill DDR2||WD Black 640gb x2||HD 4870 1gb||M-Audio Delta 1010LT||Antec Quattro4 1000 80PLUS||Antec 1200||Hanns-G 25" 1080p||Olllld Altec Lansing 4.1 Dolby Digital(still sounds great =]):::...

Soon to come: New 4870 for Crossfire||Logitech G9||Logitech G11
Thilly is offline  
Old 07-22-2009, 10:13 AM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: From decent computer to performance computer! Upgrading help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crocodyle View Post
Well I think I found enough sources to show that an AMD Phenom II processor indeed works on my motherboard.
I don't even care anymore if it isn't the 955. As long as it doesn't go below the 940, i'm happy >;]

AMD Phenom II X4: 45nm Benchmarked : The Phenom II And AMD's Dragon Platform - Review Tom's Hardware


AM2 Phenom support - XtremeSystems Forums

Phenom 2 on AM2 a good idea or not so?

What do you guys think?
Well, yes the Phenom II will fit in any AM2 board. Does it boot with the board? Not necessarily mate, a lot of users were left in the dust when it came to Phenom support (yours didn't) and then PII came out, and a lot more of those issues arose.
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-22-2009, 05:18 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 18
Default Re: From decent computer to performance computer! Upgrading help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thilly View Post
The 940 is very close to the performance of the 955 for about 80 less usd. Use the saved money on your videocard or something of the sort. If you get up your courage you can even overclock it those 200mhz ;P

The problem being referred to with these not working on your motherboard isn't the socket type. AM2, AM2+ and AM3 sockets are all compatible as far as fitting goes. The problem is your mobo probably doesn't support the power requirements for the newer phenoms. At least that is what I would guess.

If you get a new power supply many of us would recommend Corsair, and Antec psu are also nice. You can get a good Antec 300 case with an antec 500ish watt psu in a combo deal for about 100 usd at newegg, and it would serve your purposes with a single 4870.

let us know if you have any other questions or concerns. if you decide to build a new rig we are here for support =]
Yeah I'll probably end up not building a new PC.
If my mobo doesn't support the power requirements of the Phenom II, and I put it in anyways, along with a new PSU, is there a chance my motherboard would fry?
Crocodyle is offline  
Old 07-23-2009, 06:50 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 18
Default Re: From decent computer to performance computer! Upgrading help!

OKAY.
After thinknig it thoroughly, I will indeed build a new computer.
These are the parts I would like to buy and please do not recommend to me that I order it. I am not allowed to order things. =P
AMD Phenom? II X4 940 Quad-Core Black Edition 3.0GHz w/ 8MB Cache (Retail Box) at Memory Express Computers
OCZ 4GB PC2-8500 Gold Edition Dual Channel DDR2 Kit (2 x 2GB) at Memory Express Computers
XFX Radeon HD 4870 1GB DDR5 PCI-E w/ Dual DVI, HDTV-Out, HDMI at Memory Express Computers
Antec EarthWatts EA 650W Power Supply w/ Triple +12V at Memory Express Computers
Asus M4A78 Plus w/ DualDDR2 1200, 7.1 Audio, Gigabit Lan, PCI-E, CrossFireX at Memory Express Computers
Zalman CNPS9900 LED CPU Cooler for Socket 775 / 1366 at Memory Express Computers

I already have a computer case, and I'm going to use the same hard drives.

Is there anything wrong with the computer parts or is it all good?
Crocodyle is offline  
Old 07-23-2009, 06:58 PM   #17 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: From decent computer to performance computer! Upgrading help!

It looks good, mate.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Warning: Building a computer may lead to nervous breakdown! White_Wolf Off Topic Discussion 18 04-09-2009 06:43 PM
Help upgrading an older computer gumper System Upgrades 8 10-05-2008 06:22 PM
Computer Jokes. Kharn Off Topic Discussion 8 12-19-2007 12:09 AM
A Computer Building Guide.....by Elbatrop1 Elbatrop1 System Upgrades 31 04-07-2007 08:26 PM
Upgrading Computer. alex12345 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 03-28-2007 03:34 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.