CPU swap? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-27-2011, 01:17 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 7
Default CPU swap?

Ok, here's the Dilemma I am having. I just recently came into possession of a Intel Core2 Quad Q6600 2.4GHz CPU ( was parts of a computer that a friend no longer needed), and I am wondering if I should swap my PC over to that Board.

Currently I am running a AMD Phenom II X4 940 3.0GHz(black edition), I am not sure if the swap is worth it so I am asking opinions here.

Dragonschild is offline  
Old 12-27-2011, 05:53 AM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

Trotter's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 30,952
Default Re: CPU swap?

The 940 will outperform the Q6600 if both are at stock speeds. Both chips are good overclockers, however, so it would be a contest to see which CPU/mobo combination would win out once the upper limits of each were established.

If these motherboards are out of prebuilts, though, they cannot be overclocked.


Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / EVGA GTX 760 2GB
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB / WD Red 3TB
G.SKILL Ripjaws 2x2GB DDR3 1600 - Crucial Ballistix Tracer 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win7 Ult 64-bit - Func MS3 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard

R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 12-27-2011, 06:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 7
Default Re: CPU swap?

only the intel is out of a prebuilt, so i should stick with what i have then and find another use for the intel. thanks for the response.
Dragonschild is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
swap laptop and desktop cpu's??? snipza New Systems | Building and Buying 5 05-22-2010 11:52 AM
Laptop CPU swap aj2003 System Upgrades 1 04-12-2010 04:30 PM
Swap CPU, PC shuts down 7-10 after bootup. Akubane Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 12-07-2008 01:47 PM
should i oc more, or swap cpu bmxfreakrider Overclocking and Modding 10 08-12-2006 11:31 AM
Quick CPU swap question. derrick007 Microsoft Windows and Software 6 08-04-2006 01:05 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:57 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.