CPU swap? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-27-2011, 01:17 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 7
Default CPU swap?

Ok, here's the Dilemma I am having. I just recently came into possession of a Intel Core2 Quad Q6600 2.4GHz CPU ( was parts of a computer that a friend no longer needed), and I am wondering if I should swap my PC over to that Board.

Currently I am running a AMD Phenom II X4 940 3.0GHz(black edition), I am not sure if the swap is worth it so I am asking opinions here.
__________________

__________________
Dragonschild is offline  
Old 12-27-2011, 05:53 AM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,390
Default Re: CPU swap?

The 940 will outperform the Q6600 if both are at stock speeds. Both chips are good overclockers, however, so it would be a contest to see which CPU/mobo combination would win out once the upper limits of each were established.

If these motherboards are out of prebuilts, though, they cannot be overclocked.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD Ryzen 5 1600 x6 core / MSI B350 Gaming Plus
Samsung 970 EVO 250GB M.2 SSD / WD Blue SSD 250GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR4 2400 / Win10 Pro x64
Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 12-27-2011, 06:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 7
Default Re: CPU swap?

only the intel is out of a prebuilt, so i should stick with what i have then and find another use for the intel. thanks for the response.
__________________
Dragonschild is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
swap laptop and desktop cpu's??? snipza New Systems | Building and Buying 5 05-22-2010 11:52 AM
Laptop CPU swap aj2003 System Upgrades 1 04-12-2010 04:30 PM
Swap CPU, PC shuts down 7-10 after bootup. Akubane Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 12-07-2008 01:47 PM
should i oc more, or swap cpu bmxfreakrider Overclocking and Modding 10 08-12-2006 11:31 AM
Quick CPU swap question. derrick007 Microsoft Windows and Software 6 08-04-2006 01:05 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.