cpu question.. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-03-2007, 12:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 32
Default cpu question..

i currently run a athlon 64 2.2 939 cpu and am thinking of a slight upgrade.
would i be better off getting a athlon64 dual core running at 2.0 or get a single core at 2.4? does dual core make it better even though it is a little slower?


thanks for any suggestions.
__________________

suske is offline  
Old 06-03-2007, 12:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 438
Default Re: cpu question..

It is not slower at 2ghz because you have basically two processors which would equate to 4ghz combined.
__________________

__________________
Q6600@ 3.0ghz
eVGA 680i A1
4x1gb Mushkin DDR2 800
2x8800gt xFx
Coolermaster Stacker 830
an51r is offline  
Old 06-03-2007, 01:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: cpu question..

its not 4ghz combined....thats a misunderstading
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 06-03-2007, 01:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: cpu question..

Quote:
Originally Posted by an51r View Post
It is not slower at 2ghz because you have basically two processors which would equate to 4ghz combined.
It's just simply two cores running at 2GHz each. The speed is not combined.

suske, get a dual core. It's not about speed anymore. You can do alot more with a dual core, than a single core.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-03-2007, 04:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 32
Default Re: cpu question..

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
It's just simply two cores running at 2GHz each. The speed is not combined.

suske, get a dual core. It's not about speed anymore. You can do alot more with a dual core, than a single core.

the reason i asked was as i understand it dual core handles running multiple apps
better than single but are games considered a multi app?

these are the two cpus i am looking at:

Newegg.com - AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ Toledo 2.0GHz 2 x 512KB L2 Cache Socket 939 Processor - OEM
or
Newegg.com - AMD Athlon 64 4000+ San Diego 2.4GHz 1MB L2 Cache Socket 939 Processor - OEM
suske is offline  
Old 06-03-2007, 04:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: cpu question..

Currently most games are single threaded. But soon all games coming out, will be multi-threaded. So get a dual core.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-03-2007, 04:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 75
Default Re: cpu question..

well if c2d well start be putting to use in gaming with soon to be future games. is there even a point to invest in the quard core in the end of july? Since games are just barely starting c2d... wouldn't that mean quad will even be a lot later?
zetahammy is offline  
Old 06-03-2007, 04:53 PM   #8 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: cpu question..

Well it is hard to pass up a quad core(Q6600) around the same price as an E6600 now, on July 22.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-03-2007, 10:44 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 374
Default Re: cpu question..

hey I am looking at the same processor as you and I found it cheaper here than at Newegg.
AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ 2.0GHz 1MB Cache 1000MHz (2000 MTs) FSB Toledo Dual-Core OEM Socket 939 Processor ADA3800DAA5CD at TigerDirect.com
__________________

__________________
2 B old and wise U must 1st be young and stupid
Trinity ATX Mid-Tower Case, Blue neon, ASUS MOBO, Intel E8400 dual core @ 3.96GHz, 4GB RAM, 2 ATI HD 3870s Xfire, 74GB Raptor HDD w/XP, 320GB HDD w/Games, 250GB HDD w/ windows 7, 2TB external HDD, 750W psu, on a Panasonic 46" Plasma and 24" Gateway lcd as 2nd
AMD6415 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Incredibly simple question IfYouHaveToAsk Internet Software and Browsers 2 05-10-2007 11:36 AM
question about my processor socket siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 04-27-2007 01:14 AM
Help me clear something up please(Fresh install of xp type question) jonny_uk Microsoft Windows and Software 2 04-21-2007 06:38 PM
Case Fan Question Shafra Overclocking and Modding 10 04-18-2007 06:42 PM
Cigarette Adapter Question (random)? welsh Off Topic Discussion 4 04-18-2007 01:48 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.