Core 2 Duo Vs Dual Core? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-04-2010, 09:33 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
LFCJohnSmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Liverpool UK
Posts: 413
Default Core 2 Duo Vs Dual Core?

I currently have an Intel Dual Core 2.2 GHz CPU in my PC, I have looked at what options are available to me when it comes to upgrading my cpu and I am limited to just dual core cpu's. I was looking at the Intel Core 2 Duo 3.06 GHz Processor and was just wondering whether it would offer a large increase in performance over the CPU I have in at the moment? Do you think it would be worth the investment?
__________________

__________________


<<<< I JUST WANT AND NEED SOME REP!!!!!!
LFCJohnSmith is offline  
Old 02-04-2010, 10:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
matt123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 119
Default Re: Core 2 Duo Vs Dual Core?

ya. Core 2 duo improve performance.
More info at,
Difference between Intel Core 2 Duo vs Intel Dual Core vs Intel Pentium D | Choto Cheeta Online pentium-d
__________________

__________________
One Machine can do the work of 50 ordinary men.
But no machine can do the work of one extraordinary man.
---Elbert Hubbard
matt123 is offline  
Old 02-04-2010, 12:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: Core 2 Duo Vs Dual Core?

what mobo do you currently have? what cpu do you currently have (model)? which cpu were you looking at (model)?
Muffin Man is offline  
Old 02-04-2010, 12:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Spaceballs Mega-Maid
Posts: 783
Send a message via AIM to RichM499 Send a message via Yahoo to RichM499
Default Re: Core 2 Duo Vs Dual Core?

I would say that the improvement would be quite large indeed.

I won't go in to elaborate detail, because it's against the rules of this forum. I use my computers to play ALL types of games (figure it out on your own), and certain newer games required quite a bit of processing power. I can tell you that most Made-For-PC games will not see a gigantic increase in performance, but in general you should get a 30% or 40% boost from the raw MHZ jump.

Also, the 3.06ghz core2duo would be much more likely to overclock to around 3.4 or 3.5ghz with relative ease, even with air cooling.

I personally would suggest getting yourself an E8400, as it's only $167 on newegg currently, and MANY MANY people on this forum have had experience with overclocking and playing around with this chip. The E8400 tends to be an excellent overclocker, and the price is pretty good.
RichM499 is offline  
Old 02-04-2010, 01:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
LFCJohnSmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Liverpool UK
Posts: 413
Default Re: Core 2 Duo Vs Dual Core?

My current mobo is the foxconn 45gm, my current cpu is an Intel pentium Dual CPU E2200 @ 2.20GHz 539MHz.

The CPU I was looking at is this one:
Scan.co.uk: BX80571E7600 - Intel Core 2 Duo E7600, S775, Wolfdale, 3.06 GHz, 1066MHz FSB, 3MB Cache, 11.5x Ratio, 65W, Retail

Iwould like to add I have no plans to upgrade my mobo and I also have no plans to overclock my CPU, I also dont play games on my PC either, I just want to extend the life of my PC and get it to work a bit faster. I want to know is would the CPU I am looking at give me a much larger boost in CPU speed and how much of a boost would it give me?
__________________


<<<< I JUST WANT AND NEED SOME REP!!!!!!
LFCJohnSmith is offline  
Old 02-04-2010, 01:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
pcsluzba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 97
Default Re: Core 2 Duo Vs Dual Core?

Well I'm not sure if CPU upgrade only will increase a speed for normal operation.
How much memory do you have in your system? Than could help as well and sometimes does a magic.
pcsluzba is offline  
Old 02-04-2010, 02:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
LFCJohnSmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Liverpool UK
Posts: 413
Default Re: Core 2 Duo Vs Dual Core?

I currently only have 2GB of RAM but I am going to upgrade to 4GB in the next few weeks.
__________________


<<<< I JUST WANT AND NEED SOME REP!!!!!!
LFCJohnSmith is offline  
Old 02-04-2010, 02:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: Core 2 Duo Vs Dual Core?

that would be a pretty decent upgrade but it doesnt look like your mobo would support an e7600 or any 45nm cpus.
Foxconn Support - CPU Support List

i think the best cpu your mobo will support is an x6800, but thats probably going to be **** expensive.
Muffin Man is offline  
Old 02-04-2010, 02:59 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
LFCJohnSmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Liverpool UK
Posts: 413
Default Re: Core 2 Duo Vs Dual Core?

It says here that it does support the CPU:

Foxconn - Products: Motherboard

This is where Ifirst looked to what it would support.
__________________


<<<< I JUST WANT AND NEED SOME REP!!!!!!
LFCJohnSmith is offline  
Old 02-04-2010, 03:12 PM   #10 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Core 2 Duo Vs Dual Core?

^Correct LFC, It supports c2d upto 1066mhz fsb but noit 45nm chips.

As Muffy showed, theres a few that fit the description, then the die shrunk.

Its like my 690i Says it supports c2qs but not any of the 45nm chips, just the 65nm.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Socket AM2 motherboard...lookin to upgrade single core to dual core processor BradS System Upgrades 2 01-09-2010 08:50 AM
Is my motherboard/setup ready for a dual core processor? BradS New Systems | Building and Buying 2 12-31-2009 02:33 AM
Intel i7 Overclocking Ulquiorra Schiffer Overclocking and Modding 37 06-06-2009 05:04 PM
Is dual better than quad, for non-PC gaming? Johnathan New Systems | Building and Buying 8 10-27-2008 01:48 PM
Are Quad Core or Dual core best for gaming? Noniy New Systems | Building and Buying 11 06-03-2008 11:07 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.