computer to handle certain programs - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-22-2008, 07:32 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5
Smile computer to handle certain programs

Hello everyone, this is my first post here..
I am posting because I have a client who needs 8 computers built, one of which is a server.

I believe all the computers need to handle the programs CAD and Photoshop CS3
I was wondering what i can build for them so that way Im not getting them far more than what they need to pay for.

I also need ideas on good toner printers.


Please help, and thank you
__________________

krptodr is offline  
Old 07-22-2008, 08:56 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: computer to handle certain programs

Just my experience, but with clients i would suggest going out and purchasing prebuilt models from dell/hp or someone else. The reason is you want the warranty that comes with those items. Especially if they are getting a server, you really should be purchasing these items from a manufacturer that offers a year or so warranty (parts). If you put some mut PC's together, while you will be saving them some money (not much after purchase of legit OS's) you run the chance of REALLY delaying their purchases if you have to replace a part or two because either you fried it OR it malfunctioned. After installing an OS (at this point Vista probably) you won't be saving your client much money at all when you have to go out and purchase 300+ dollar Vista CD's.

From a large vendor you can probably get a sweet deal as well, and could possibly get a printer (laser) thrown in there and could possiblty get some discounts on a few monitors (assuming they need those).

I would say any dual core processor above 2 Ghz with 2 gig ram would do fine for CS3 running Vista Home Premium. As for the server it really depends on what it needs to do, if it is just a file server then you won't need a very powerful machine at all.
__________________

Lexluethar is offline  
Old 07-22-2008, 11:08 AM   #3 (permalink)
ninja troll
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,019
Default Re: computer to handle certain programs

i agree with the above, just make yourself the middleman. dont worry so much about getting comps with the most advanced graphics cards in them as these programs dont use them. larger monitors are best, because in cad and ps you want screen real estate. just try to upgrade to better cpus and ram. my work got me a dell precision T3400 and it eats up everything ive thrown at it... a few months ago, and they wanted around 1100-1300 a piece for them, with a good sized monitor too...
__________________
Intel Core i5-2500K
ASUS P8Z68-V LE LGA 1155 Intel Z68
Corsair 550VX
1Tb Samsung Spinpoint F3
1Tb WD Caviar Green
2Tb WD Caviar Green
8gb DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600
Sapphire Radeon 6870


jasonalwaysready is offline  
Old 07-22-2008, 11:20 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: computer to handle certain programs

The only thing I disagree with Lex is the cost of Vista. You can get legitimate copies of Vista Business for $140 or Home Premium for $100-110. They are OEM copies, but completely legitimate and they are the exact same copies that Dell or HP would use.

The only way I would recommend building the PC's is if you are warrantying these yourself, and are prepared for any costs associated with repairs. Also, you would be responsible for any technical support related to Vista since you would be the OEM provider. That is another advantage of a Dell or HP in this situation. You get the warranty, repairs, and Tech Support taken care of.
__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 07-22-2008, 12:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5
Default Re: computer to handle certain programs

thank you all very much for your info, I will check into HP or dell's. Now for the server. i was wondering if I should run vista or xp pro on it, because i do believe there will be no more than 8 people on the server at once. which is exactlly what the client os's allow
krptodr is offline  
Old 07-22-2008, 12:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: computer to handle certain programs

As long as they never plan to expand, you are fine with going that route. Otherwise Server 2008 is supposed to be very good.
__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 07-22-2008, 01:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: computer to handle certain programs

Ya I agree with surgeVel on this one. I'll take it a step further and say that you really should have a server OS w/ a server. This way you can properly allocate permissions to certain users, properly backup the system, files, etc.

Vista on the workstations and 08 server on the server. You should also purchase that through another party like HP, Dell, etc.
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 07-22-2008, 05:49 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5
Default Re: computer to handle certain programs

okay, i'll look into doing that, thank you very much. You guys have been great.
__________________

krptodr is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Internet connection sharing behind a router KSoD Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 8 03-01-2016 11:32 AM
Help with a gaming computer Consequences New Systems | Building and Buying 20 07-22-2008 03:04 AM
Need Video Card, Case, Mouse and Keyboard Suggestions r3vo1ution1991 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 07-06-2008 08:47 PM
I need help picking a gaming computer rcnjsn9 New Systems | Building and Buying 14 11-21-2007 01:01 AM
A Computer Building Guide.....by Elbatrop1 Elbatrop1 System Upgrades 31 04-07-2007 08:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.