Computer build problem... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-09-2011, 01:10 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 5
Default Computer build problem...


I have a computer that's been built by my brother, filled with brand new components, the case is second hand. It powered up once with everything apart from graphics card installed. When that was installed and connected to a monitor nothing happens. Now it won't power up at all, even without graphics card.
Either something has been installed incorrectly or a new item is faulty, however he can't identify the fault.

It seems like a waste of money send it for a service, so someone can tell me a component is faulty... or maybe it just needs a tweak.

I'm clueless, any advice would be greatly appreciated

thx, Daniel

bunglegunk is offline  
Old 09-09-2011, 01:49 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 10

What are the system specs? If you could add some picture of the system could help.

hillbilly313 is offline  
Old 09-09-2011, 03:52 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 5
Default Re: Computer build problem...

Originally Posted by hillbilly313 View Post
What are the system specs? If you could add some picture of the system could help.

ASUS M4A87TD/USB3 - motherboard - ATX - Socket AM3 - AMD 870
SAPPHIRE HD 5570 graphic card
AMD Black Edition AMD Phenom II X4 955 / 3.2 GHz processor
OCZ 550W Fatal1ty Power Supply (I was wrongly sent EU version, I presume they are the same apart continental plug)
Samsung EcoGreen HD103SI 1TB internal Hard Drive SATAII 32MB Cache 5400RPM OEM
G.Skill 4GB (2x2GB) DDR3 PC3-12800 1600 MHz Memory 240
Case is a Cooler Master
bunglegunk is offline  
Old 09-09-2011, 05:55 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
MyGodAL3X's Avatar
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Posts: 460
Default Re: Computer build problem...

It is probably that your CPU does not have the integrated graphics chip.
what CPU did you buy.
"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid." - Albert Einstein
Rep me if I helped you out
MyGodAL3X is offline  
Old 09-09-2011, 07:02 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Slaymate's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Computer build problem...

Post a few pictures of the inside of your case so we can look for problems.

Screenshot Tutorial
Slaymate is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Computer Build Odd Problem skylinegtrv98 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 09-16-2008 07:46 PM
Computer build problem.. Jawnskeel System Upgrades 22 08-26-2008 12:04 AM
Problem installing vista on newly build Computer Proedge Microsoft Windows and Software 1 06-14-2008 06:27 PM
solving a custom build computer problem Troubledyouth Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 13 03-26-2005 11:28 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:25 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.