celeron d - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-15-2007, 11:48 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dorset Uk
Posts: 347
Default celeron d

y is celeron d not good for gaming
im on a low budget and this is 3.2ghz and cheap
so why isnt it very good for gaming
isnt it a dual core
cos of the d?
i thought it was celeron dual or sumin
__________________

rebell07 is offline  
Old 08-15-2007, 12:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: celeron d

Celeron D isn't a Dual Core. You can play games on a Celeron D but it also depends on your system. Having a slow VGA or a low speed RAM could affect your performance badly even with the best CPU. The games won't be running as fast as you might think it would.
__________________

__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-15-2007, 12:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default Re: celeron d

No it is not dual core. It is an old processor. It is bad compared to newer processors, but really It can easily play games such as CS:S, UT04 and the like with ease.
__________________
MSI P35 Plat // 4GB DDR2 1033 // HD 4870 // Conroe C2D e6300 @ 2.5Ghz
Vaanish is offline  
Old 08-15-2007, 12:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dorset Uk
Posts: 347
Default Re: celeron d

kk thx
rebell07 is offline  
Old 08-16-2007, 11:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Inquiry - The Dark Cheese
 
darksideleader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 953
Default Re: celeron d

the new 4xx celerons are awesome though. Based on the conroe core. The celron 440 is equivalent with a A64 3500+. And since its based on the conroe, you can oc all the way to 3ghz.
darksideleader is offline  
Old 08-17-2007, 12:50 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: celeron d

Quote:
Originally Posted by darksideleader View Post
the new 4xx celerons are awesome though. Based on the conroe core. The celron 440 is equivalent with a A64 3500+. And since its conroe, you can oc all the way to 3ghz.
Celeron is a Conroe? No it's not, what are you talking about?
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-17-2007, 12:53 AM   #7 (permalink)
Inquiry - The Dark Cheese
 
darksideleader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 953
Default Re: celeron d

Quote:
Originally Posted by phucng_10 View Post
Celeron is a Conroe? No it's not, what are you talking about?
Newegg.com - Intel Celeron 420 Conroe-L 1.6GHz 512KB L2 Cache LGA 775 Processor - Retail

Conroe-L
darksideleader is offline  
Old 08-17-2007, 12:59 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: celeron d

I think I would just go for the Core 2 Duo Conroe. Rather then a single cored Celeron.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-17-2007, 01:00 AM   #9 (permalink)
Inquiry - The Dark Cheese
 
darksideleader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 953
Default Re: celeron d

anyone would, celeron just a budget CPU.
darksideleader is offline  
Old 08-17-2007, 01:02 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: celeron d

If you want a budget CPU, might as well go with AMD Athlon 64 X2.
__________________

__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Socket 775 Celeron D 346 (3.06ghz, 64-bit capable) Jorsoft Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 1 07-13-2007 12:33 AM
turion or celeron... which is better? OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 39 06-20-2007 06:03 PM
Intel Celeron 4xx Performance Unveiled maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 1 04-12-2007 09:18 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.