Can a PC100/133 RAM work on a PC that has PC2700? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-18-2007, 09:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
This is sparta!
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 744
Default Can a PC100/133 RAM work on a PC that has PC2700?

I haven't checked the pins if it fits or not. ANd I really don't want to get to that point.

But lets say it does fit. Will that ram work on my PC which currently uses PC2700 memory?
__________________

akasixcon is offline  
Old 04-18-2007, 09:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Inquiry - The Dark Cheese
 
darksideleader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 953
Default Re: Can a PC100/133 RAM work on a PC that has PC2700?

nope SDRAM is different from DDR RAM.
__________________

darksideleader is offline  
Old 04-18-2007, 09:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1
Default Re: Can a PC100/133 RAM work on a PC that has PC2700?

Also SDRAM performs much slower than DDR-Ram.

SDRAM - Worst
RDRAM - Better but propriatery.
DDRRAM - Average performance.
DDR2 - Highest performance.
pcnerd88 is offline  
Old 04-19-2007, 04:10 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,668
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Can a PC100/133 RAM work on a PC that has PC2700?

but the main problem i wud say is that they cant fit into the same type of slots, which kinda answers the question for me! ddr sdram is approx twice as fast as sdram, not surprising as ddr stands for double data rate.
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 04-19-2007, 08:16 AM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Can a PC100/133 RAM work on a PC that has PC2700?

Actually, DDR2 has just recently gotten faster than DDR. DDR2 has more throughput, and manufacturers have finally gotten that throughput put to work. Both DDR and DDR2 are good memory standards.

SDRAM is a completely different bird. Just as DDR and DDR2 are different (184 pins vs 240 pins), SDRAM only has 168 pins. None of the three are interchangable.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unable to save work into server coolray Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 6 04-20-2007 02:01 PM
Will Barcelona work in AM2? CrazeD New Systems | Building and Buying 1 04-11-2007 11:36 PM
Sandisk memory card will not work in my laptop , but i have the slot for it???? chaznad Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 03-26-2007 08:10 PM
USB Mice Don't Work - Everything Else USB Does. Blizzard596 Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-26-2007 06:35 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.