Can I run games on this? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-26-2006, 02:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
Default Can I run games on this?

I don't care to much about graphics, I'm not that hard core of a gamer. But there are a few games i would like to play. My computer has a Celeron M 430 with 1.73ghz. The ram is only 1/2 a gig now, but i'm upgrading it to a gig very soon. Its a brand new laptop with 128MB of shared video memory. I haven't done anything with its graphic or sound cards either. Really all I want is to play games without them lagging much. Is that possible on this machine? Thanks.
__________________

nhwalker89 is offline  
Old 12-26-2006, 02:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

You won't be able to do much with that laptop (I'm guessing it's a laptop by the Celeron M).

Intel Celeron M is a pretty low-end processor, made for just internet surfing, that's mostly it. Playing solitaire, maybe.

128MB Shared Graphics means that it takes the computer's main memory for the graphics, meaning you only have 384MB of RAM.

The most you can play on that computer is DOS games, maybe a select few from 2000.
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 12-26-2006, 02:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
Default

dang. Thanks for the response. Is it easy to upgrade a processor or am i better off replaceing the motherboard, or the whole laptop?
nhwalker89 is offline  
Old 12-26-2006, 04:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

I would recommend a better laptop all together. You're gonna be limited to Celeron or Pentium 4 on that laptop.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 12-26-2006, 04:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

If you can afford it, this $700 will be much better for games. Not lightning fast, but good.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16834147277
talldude123 is offline  
Old 12-26-2006, 04:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,403
Default

what games are you wanting to play... if they are old enough... it might just work for your needs
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 12-26-2006, 07:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Tel
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 30
Default

Wow talldude123. Your not the brightest bulb in the box.

With that, You can play older games like....

Morrowind, Quake 3, Half-Life 1, pretty much anything made 6 years ago.
Tel is offline  
Old 12-26-2006, 09:12 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

Please don't double post...

Like I said in your other thread check out this site- it'll let you know if your lappy is good enough to run curent games. Most stuff made maybe 2003 or older should run fine without any trouble. Newer stuff can be iffy. Check this out:
http://www.srtest.com/referrer/srtest
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 12-26-2006, 11:02 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Tel
Wow talldude123. Your not the brightest bulb in the box.

With that, You can play older games like....

Morrowind, Quake 3, Half-Life 1, pretty much anything made 6 years ago.

I had a computer with similar specs and better video card and could barely play anything.

I'm not the brightest bulb in the box? Nice insult, man. :amazed:
talldude123 is offline  
Old 12-27-2006, 10:42 PM   #10 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default

I disagree and agree with ur quote .... you can play games with that e.g Roller Coaster Tycoon.Armored Fist 3 , basicly games that were made about 4 years ago that noone has ever herd of..... The XBOX 1 has 733MHZ Processor ...... that has good graphics Think of Black.
__________________

__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.