buying our new desktop - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-21-2006, 09:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 10
Default buying our new desktop

My family is buying a new computer soon. I have a pretty hefty knowledge of computers (there's a technician in the family), but I'd like to have an expert's advice. We are looking for something moderately priced, but a good brand. i'm not too crazy about AMD, so I'm kinda leaning towards anything but. We want a computer that can play any kind of games (ie:sims), play music, have microsoft word, be compatible with most software and work well with internet high speed connections. If this is too vague, please ask me to be more specific by asking questions. Thanks!
__________________

bytes777 is offline  
Old 10-22-2006, 06:02 AM   #2 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

Why not AMD? What about this one?
__________________

__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 10-22-2006, 06:08 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

what's your price range?

BTW, there's nothing wrong with AMD. they had the performance crown for about 5 years before June, and probabbly will again when they release K8L
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 10-22-2006, 11:23 AM   #4 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

Also, if your knowledge of computers is that great, why not build?
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 10-22-2006, 08:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 10
Default

usually pentiums are compatible with everything... price range: anything beneath $1000. not looking for state-of-the art. just something that will play music, games, and most media stuff.
bytes777 is offline  
Old 10-22-2006, 08:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

So are Athlon 64s. That statement in itself was rather uninformed, especially since Intel has basically admitted that the Core arch is the new big thing, since it kicks the Athlon, which kicks the Pentium family. Also, they use the same architecture, it's not like Windows/software sees an AMD proc and goes "OH NOES CAN'T RUNZORS!!!1"
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 10-22-2006, 08:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 10
Default

well, i'm looking at limewire, java and other programs that I use and they all recommend a pentium...
bytes777 is offline  
Old 10-22-2006, 08:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bytes777
well, i'm looking at limewire, java and other programs that I use and they all recommend a pentium...
The General is offline  
Old 10-22-2006, 08:21 PM   #9 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

PENTIUM-CLASS OR HIGHER!!!

That's Athlon 64, Core arches, Sempron, Celeron, anything in that family. You call yourself well-versed in computers yet you cannot figure out something that simple? You're also willing to compromise computing power because you can't reason this thing out?
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 10-22-2006, 08:24 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 10
Default

hey, i don't got a degree, ok! when my friends have a problem with their home computers, I'm the one they call, hehe. but thanks anyway, i appreciate the advice. just don't yell at me *tear*
__________________

bytes777 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.