Which to buy to help performance in half life 2? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-21-2006, 09:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default Which to buy to help performance in half life 2?

Ok i have been getting into half life 2 and I am playing it fine on medium settings, but on some parts where i am shooting it kind of lags. Also when I turn around too fast it lags. I have a decent system but i want to upgrade to help me run it better. My question is should I buy an other 512 stick of ram to make it 1 gig total, or should i get a new motherboard sine the one i have now only supports agp 4x for my 8x 6600. This would be the motherboard I would get:
http://www.mwave.com/mwave/viewspec....iteria=BA19905

This oen has nf2 ultra and it supports agp 8x and dual channel ram. My mobo now has single channel ram and has a weak km266 chipset and it has only agp 2x/4x. My sempron will only go 100mhz overlcoked because of the mobo. I would like to get it higher. So my question is would i be better off getting the ram to help me play hl2 better? Or would I be better off getting the motherboard to help my vidcard run at 8x and to help overclock my cpu?

I am leaning towards the ram because many times peopel have told me that the 4x isn't really holding back my videocard. so what should I buy? Also whatever i buy i want it to help me play hl2 better wiht less lag.
__________________

__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 10:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 555
Default

Getting more RAM would be a good start, maybe up it to 1 gig.
Just think, all the data on those 5 discs need to be loaded at one point or another to play the game, plus with Windows running in the background, 512mb is beginning to be the bare minimum of today's games.
And a new motherboard with 8x AGP (or PCI-x if you want to up the ante), dual channel, and either 333 or 400 frontside bus will help you along.
__________________

__________________
sprtnbsblplya is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 01:28 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 300
Default

From your rig, Just get a new computer.
__________________
Sig reinstated SigSanta
Kazama is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 01:33 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,319
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Kazama
From your rig, Just get a new computer.
agreed....save up and get a new computer....

that one you have is not really worth upgrading
__________________

Avalanch3 is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 02:10 AM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default

Slap in the RAM to help your rig last a little while longer.

Start socking away the dough to buy a new rig on down the road.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 09:30 AM   #6 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Trotter
Slap in the RAM to help your rig last a little while longer.

Start socking away the dough to buy a new rig on down the road.
yeah lol no way i am going to upgrade this all the way there's not much to do. I am already getting a new rig in the summer maybe a new sokcet939 or if the new AM2's come out then those. I just want this thing to help me play hl2 right now. I think i am going to buy ram this way i can use it for my new rig in the summer too. I'm just going to get this corsair one:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145026
then when i build my new ocmputer i will get another stick of this corsair. This is the rig I am planning on getting, but i won't be ordering the parts til around june:
http://techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=91754

ok thanx guys.
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 02-25-2006, 10:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

ok guys i got the money and i am going to be ordering tonight. I have $45 and i was wondering if i should go with this motherboard instead of the ram:http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...2E16813130512R

It has so much better features than my mobo now. AGP 8x, dual channel ddr 400,nf2 ultra, better brand and better overclocker. This beats the **** out of my mobo now. Remember i am going to work in the summer and get a totally new rig but i want something to last me for those 5 months. So would i be better off getting corsair ddr400 512 ram to bump up my total to 1 gig, or should i get this mobo since it is WAY better than my pc chips one that i have now? I figured this since in the summer i might go AM2 and i wil need totally new ram anyways. So basically tonight should i order the mobo or the ram?
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 02-25-2006, 11:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

please guys im ordering it tonight any suggestions?
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 02-26-2006, 12:21 AM   #9 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default

I'd go with the RAM.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 02-26-2006, 01:10 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 543
Default

nah the ram will be better and you will see more of a performance boost in everything else too instead of just in hl2
__________________

__________________
3200+ A64 skt 754
ASUS K8N4-E Deluxe
2x 512mb corsair value
X1800XL 512mb@X1800XT
2x 80g WD SATA
X-FI Platinum
Antec P180b
Running is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.