Building new desktop, help please... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-14-2007, 01:20 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 61
Send a message via AIM to pyrodog783
Default Building new desktop, help please...

Hi im basically upgrading my old pc, but i have many questions because this is my first build. I use it dominantly for gaming... COD, F.E.A.R, and stuff like that, but anyway i can spend up to $600- I need a new moniter, psu, mobo, processer, and case. I basically want to know if my old things will be compatible with the new things I buy, well here it is...


here is what i know about my ram, cards, psu, ect.
my pc is a 2002 dell dimension 8250

RAM: 2 sticks of 128mb samsung

Soundcard: Sound Blaster Live

Graphics Card: Nvidia Geforce (450 i think)

Wireless Card: Airplus Xtreme G DWL-G520

Hardrive: 120gb

Processer: Intel Pentium 4 2.66ghz

uknown card: it reads FD and LNK/ACT has a ethernet plugin

uknown card: has a pic of a phone, also has 2 phone line plugins(connects to my soundcard with a wire)

PCI chips: made by dell but idk what they do? never seen them in a pc cept mine.

MOBO: doesnt say what kind

*sorry if my info is kindof sucky lol , I did my best though,

*1.anyway, im confused because my mobo has 7 pci slots and im not sure if i need those other cards or the funky pci chips i mentioned.
*2.what are the funky PCI chips?
*3.Which is a mobo and processer thats good for gaming AMD or Intel?
*4.if i switch to AMD will my stuff be compatible with it? besides the mobo of course.
*5.will my hardrive work when I use it with the new mobo/psu i choose? or will I have to clean it of all its files?
*6.will all my cards/ram work with my new mobo?
*7.and will my old Ram be compatible with the mobo?

sorry about my nubishness...

btw heres a list of new parts I am going to buy unless you guys say otherwise...

new case: APEVIA X-CRUISER-BK Black Steel ATX Mid Tower

new power supply: APEVIA ICEBERG ATX-IB680W-BL ATX12V / EPS12V 680W

Moniter: Hanns·G HW-191DPB Black 19" 5ms DVI Widescreen LCD

Mobo: BIOSTAR TForce6100-939 Socket 939 NVIDIA GeForce 6100 Micro ATX AMD Motherboard

Processer: AMD Athlon 64 3800+ Venice 2.4GHz 512KB L2 Cache Socket 939

(I know there are better products but as long as these dont suck, then im fine, suggestions are encouraged though)

whew, im tired of typing...

thanks a ton...
__________________

pyrodog783 is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 01:42 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
King X13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to King X13
Default

RAM - is RDRAM and no motherboards are really made with that anymore. it was good for its day but died out so you will need new ram.

for your questions..

1) it depends what the cards are and do you use them?
2)on the documention for your board i dont see anything funky lol so try to find out what that is
3)AMD x2 or a pentium D, 600 is hard for a c2d.
4)yeah like you said your mobo, also your memory like i said its not compatible with anything anymore.
5)you will have to wipe your hard drive when you get new hard ware, windows xp has a hal layer that stops you from using the the install with new hardware like mobo, cpu, etc.
6)graphics is old agp4x, you dont really want that, you can get a decent pci-e 16x with in your budget. and again the ram wont work with anything.
7)again ram wont work with anything.

power supply - is overkill you dont need that many watts

monitor - is pretty nice

mobo - again good for a budget

cpu - good but i would go with an x2 if you go with amd

hope it helps alittle.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
King X13 is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 01:55 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

You will need new ram, figure about $100 per gb
PSU is overkill, I agree. Depending on what graphics card you choose I still don't think you'd need more than 550w
I didn't see a video listed either, what one were you looking at? a 7600gt or a low end x1900 would be around $150, those are solid mid-range choices.

You shouldn't need any of those expansion cards either. Those are from a time when noting was integrated into the motherboard. Now everything is going to be built right in for you (ethernet, plenty of usb ports, firewire, etc.)
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 01:59 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 61
Send a message via AIM to pyrodog783
Default

heres my new list, some is same...

case

RAM

monitor

graphics card

Power supply (not sure if its too much like you said...?)



Processer (but is it really worth it for the x2?)

and I couldnt decide on a mobo, any suggestions but none over $70 cuz im already over 600 but the rebates and stuff will slightly bring it down...
__________________
CPU: C2D@2.13
MOBO:ECS Nforce570 LGA 775
CASE:Cooler Master Centurion5
PSU:FPS 400W
GPU:BFG 7600GT 256MB
RAM:Patriot Signature 512MB + WINTEC 1GB
pyrodog783 is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 02:38 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
King X13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to King X13
Default

500-550w is more then enough.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
King X13 is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 05:19 AM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default

Here's a few changes.

Same case.

Same mobo.

Same monitor.

Same GFX card.

Antec SmartPower 2.0 SP-450 ATX12V 450W Power Supply
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817103936

AMD Opteron 165 Denmark (you had a AM2 CPU)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103588

G.SKILL 1GB (2 x 512MB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231079

Total = 773 ($40 MIR) + Shipping
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 05:55 AM   #7 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default

someone finally said something GJ Trotter
I actually read the stickys
and the OP's choice of PSU (APEVIA) was in the NOT RECOMMENDED section
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 11:02 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
King X13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to King X13
Default

those are good suggestions trotter but its going to be 200 over budget with shipping, hes trying to keep it under 600 and your suggestions are at 800 with shipping. i dont know if that will work.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
King X13 is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 12:54 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default

CPU:$76.99
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103622

MOBO:$74.99
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813186059

RAM: $53.99
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820146898

HARD DRIVE: $59.99
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822136036

VIDEO CARD: $92.99
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814150162

MONITOR: $184.99
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16824009100

CASE: $17.99
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811147068

PSU: $28.99
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817182021

Total comes out to $590 before shipping.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 01:19 PM   #10 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default

Basically, $600 won't do everything that he wants done at one time.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.