AMD 64 X2 4xxx Vs. 6000 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-06-2007, 04:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 267
Default AMD 64 X2 4xxx Vs. 6000

Is there that much of a different between getting the hogher end CPU's? I know they are obviously better but what I mean is are you better off to save money and over clock? On the other hand can't you just over clock the 6000 and go even faster.

Whats the general consensus, is it worth another $75 or so to get the 6000?

Thanks,
__________________

Mr. LL is offline  
Old 08-06-2007, 04:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: AMD 64 X2 4xxx Vs. 6000

I'd say, if you can afford the X2 6000+, get it...because it's a pretty powerful CPU at stock, and can overclock to 3.3-3.5 range.

If you don't have the extra money to spare, get the 4xxx series, and overclock. They will usually hit the 3.0GHz mark, with good cooling.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-07-2007, 01:58 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 267
Default Re: AMD 64 X2 4xxx Vs. 6000

This reminds me of another question I had, does the 6000 require anything special or will a standard AM2 mobo with a 24pin/4pin PSU work?

Does over clocking a CPU shorten it's life span or make it die easier?

Thanks for your help.
Mr. LL is offline  
Old 08-07-2007, 02:00 AM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: AMD 64 X2 4xxx Vs. 6000

The 6000+ does not require any special treatment, while being installed on an AM2 board.

Overclocking does reduce the lifespan, but it is very insignificant. The average lifespan of a CPU is about 10 years....and overclocking takes off 1-2 years. I'm assuming you won't be using that CPU for that long, and would be buying a new processor, by then.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-07-2007, 07:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 267
Default Re: AMD 64 X2 4xxx Vs. 6000

That's not bad at all. Yeah I think the longest I have used a CPU for my main system is about 3-4 years.
Mr. LL is offline  
Old 08-07-2007, 10:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: AMD 64 X2 4xxx Vs. 6000

In case you haven't seen it, NewEgg has the FX-62 for $199 w/free shipping right ow.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 01:26 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 267
Default Re: AMD 64 X2 4xxx Vs. 6000

Man that just went down in price didn't it? The other FX CPU's are several hundred dollars.

What would be the main benifit of the FX-62 over the 64 X2 6000? The 6000 is actually faster but I'm sure the FX CPU has some major benifits over the x2 but I don't know the details.

Also, NewEgg says it has 64 bit support but you can still install a 32 bit OS using the FX-62 CPU right?
Mr. LL is offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 01:32 AM   #8 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: AMD 64 X2 4xxx Vs. 6000

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. LL View Post
Man that just went down in price didn't it? The other FX CPU's are several hundred dollars.

What would be the main benifit of the FX-62 over the 64 X2 6000? The 6000 is actually faster but I'm sure the FX CPU has some major benifits over the x2 but I don't know the details.

Also, NewEgg says it has 64 bit support but you can still install a 32 bit OS using the FX-62 CPU right?
The FX series is like the extreme editions. They have the unlocked multipliers. Wheres the X2 6000+, doesn't. That about the only advantage, which isn't much of an advantage, IMO.

All current CPUs now are 64-bit capable, and can all run 32-bit OS and applications.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
add amd 6000 / an9 / 4gb corsair 6400 to my existing system IGeMex New Systems | Building and Buying 15 07-03-2007 04:15 PM
amd 6000 or intel E6600??? xxdeadweightxx New Systems | Building and Buying 16 06-15-2007 07:16 PM
e6600 or 64 X2 6000 soupman New Systems | Building and Buying 11 04-10-2007 09:58 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.