AGP or PCI?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-04-2007, 07:28 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 43
Default AGP or PCI??

Im looking to buy a GeForce 7900GS but i have no PCIe slots, will i be able to find this somewhere for PCI? or would it be best to go with AGP.
How do i find out what speed my AGP slot is?
__________________

Sunulos is offline  
Old 06-04-2007, 08:37 AM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: AGP or PCI??

Download a program called CPU-Z. Just google it. And when you open the program, it will tell you the speed of your AGP slot, under the mainboard tab. Actually it won't really matter. For example, if your AGP slot is an 8x slot. And you get a 4x or 2x AGP card, it will just run at it's designated speed in the 8x slot. If you get an 8x AGP card, and put it in a 2x or 4x slot, it will downgrade to run at the speed of the slot. AGP is better than PCI, so what is your budget for a graphic card?
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-04-2007, 08:42 AM   #3 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: AGP or PCI??

if your willing to spend so much money then you will probably be better off upgrading your whole system agp is old news and so cards are actually more expensive to buy as there are less produced supply/demand
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 06-04-2007, 08:44 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 43
Default Re: AGP or PCI??

Thx, ok agp speed is 4x.

No budget really so long as its worth it, i just want something to last til the end of the year. the rest of my system isnt top of the line so i dont need geforce 8.

Just picked out what i wanted on newegg, when i realised they did US only

Any good sites that will ship to UK/Ireland?
Sunulos is offline  
Old 06-04-2007, 08:47 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 43
Default Re: AGP or PCI??

well i only want something to tide me over til end of year, then i want a buffed up laptop.

This comp will still be used when im done with it so its not so bad
Sunulos is offline  
Old 06-04-2007, 08:52 AM   #6 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: AGP or PCI??

You can get either the 7950GT or X1950XT AGP card:

XFX GeForce 7950GT 256MB GDDR3 DVI HDTV out AGP

Gecube X1950XT 256MB GDDR3 AGP Graphics Card

or the cheaper 7800GS:
XFX GEFORCE 7800GS - XT gamers edition AGP 256MB DDR3 DVI TV VGA

Just make sure your power supply, has enough amps to sufficiently power these cards.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-04-2007, 08:57 AM   #7 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: AGP or PCI??

uk websites:

overclockers.co.uk
dabs.com
kustompcs.co.uk
scan.com
ebuyer.com

you can't get an 8 series agp card anyway. A laptop will never match a desktop for gaming performance I think your just wasting your money in further investing in a dying technology when for £300 you can get an amd motherboard and cpu and then a decent pci-express graphics card



lmao:"The 7950 thinks it's an army and so will your opponents when you hit them with this baby"
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 06-04-2007, 09:00 AM   #8 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: AGP or PCI??

XD!....I just read that too. I'll have to agree with salty again, on building a new comp.

How do you guys write that currency sign?
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-04-2007, 09:02 AM   #9 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: AGP or PCI??

its above the 3 our dollar sign is above the 4 but this a UK keyboard........
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 06-04-2007, 09:08 AM   #10 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: AGP or PCI??

Oh, I'm using a US keyboard. I guess I have to use those number codes to write that sign.

Anyway, on what saltynay mentioned. 300 in UK money, can get you:
Intel E6320 Core 2 Duo CPU - Cheap at Ebuyer!
MSI P6N SLI-FI nvidia 650i Socket 775 ATX
Corsair 2GB Kit (2x1GB) DDR2 PC2-5300/5400 (667/675MHz)CL4 with Heat Spreader
EVGA 7900GS 256MB DVI PCI-E Graphics Card

316.89 to be exact. And that includes VAT.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.