Advice on RAM modules. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-30-2010, 09:26 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
LFCJohnSmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Liverpool UK
Posts: 413
Question Advice on RAM modules.

I am looking to upgrade my RAM from 2GB to 4GB as i have just upgraded my OS from Vista to windows 7. I am not in a hurry to upgrade my RAM as for 1 I am a broke at the moment and secondly I don't use my PC all that much and when I do use it I only use it for browsing the web or word / excel docs. Anyway I was just pricing up some 4GB RAM modules and I have found what appears to be a bit of a bargain, but I aint sure if the performance gained would be worth spending the money on them now or just leaving them as they wont make a huge difference.

I currently have a Pentium Dual core 2.2GHz cpu.

This is the RAM I would probably go for:

4GB kit (2GBx2), 240-pin DIMM, DDR2 PC2-6400 memory module
CT2KIT25664AA800

* Module Size: 4GB kit (2GBx2)
* Package: 240-pin DIMM
* Feature: DDR2 PC2-6400
* Specs: DDR2 PC2-6400 CL=6 Unbuffered NON-ECC DDR2-800 1.8V 256Meg x 64

Which is 70.50

CT2KIT25664AA800 - 4GB kit (2GBx2), 240-pin DIMM , DDR2 PC2-6400 from Crucial.com

but I found found this one:

4GB kit (2GBx2), 240-pin DIMM, DDR2 PC2-5300 memory module
CT850338

* Module Size: 4GB kit (2GBx2)
* Package: 240-pin DIMM
* Feature: DDR2 PC2-5300
* Specs: DDR2 PC2-5300 CL=5 Single Ranked Registered ECC DDR2-667 1.8V 256Meg x 72

Which is 136.29 but I can get it for 58.40 cause the packaging has been opened but the RAM is still new

4GB kit (2GBx2), 240-pin DIMM, DDR2 PC2-5300 upgrades for HP - Compaq ProLiant DL360 G4p Server, CT850338 from Crucial.com

Would it be worth my while spending money I don't really have to go for the better RAM or will the difference in performance not be all that great?

Your help as always is greatly appreciated.
__________________

__________________


<<<< I JUST WANT AND NEED SOME REP!!!!!!
LFCJohnSmith is offline  
Old 01-30-2010, 11:00 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Advice on RAM modules.

The 2nd ram your listing is registered ECC ram and it may or may not work in your mobo, it's server ram and it's slower than the 1st ram listed. PC2-6400 is faster than PC2-5300 (800MHz vs. 667MHz). Most desktop computers are designed for NON-ECC ram.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 01-30-2010, 11:29 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
LFCJohnSmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Liverpool UK
Posts: 413
Default Re: Advice on RAM modules.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaymate View Post
The 2nd ram your listing is registered ECC ram and it may or may not work in your mobo, it's server ram and it's slower than the 1st ram listed. PC2-6400 is faster than PC2-5300 (800MHz vs. 667MHz). Most desktop computers are designed for NON-ECC ram.
Okay thank you very much, just as well I asked first before buying it.

Can I just ask though, how come the slower RAM is moreexpensive than the cheaper RAM?
__________________


<<<< I JUST WANT AND NEED SOME REP!!!!!!
LFCJohnSmith is offline  
Old 01-30-2010, 02:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Advice on RAM modules.

It's more of a Speciality Product. It's not a big seller so if you need it, it's going to cost you
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 01-30-2010, 03:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
LFCJohnSmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Liverpool UK
Posts: 413
Default Re: Advice on RAM modules.

It says though on the Crucial website in the what does this mean link that the lower the CL number the faster the lower the number that faster it is, how come this would still make the server RAM slower?
__________________


<<<< I JUST WANT AND NEED SOME REP!!!!!!
LFCJohnSmith is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Core i7 build not booting with all RAM jesspren6 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 13 03-29-2009 02:39 AM
Added RAM, no performance increase? drewjustforyou System Upgrades 2 03-21-2009 08:06 PM
Monitor went dark Noelectro Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 20 09-08-2008 06:54 PM
SLI ready RAM? Is it any better? What does SLI mean for RAM? StealthTools Overclocking and Modding 12 04-17-2008 09:27 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.